Author Topic: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.  (Read 10999 times)

Offline WireCut

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« on: November 18, 2015, 11:57:39 am »
After some research, without results, I decide to ask to the guys of this forum.

I need to show on the display my drawing scale 1:1,

but when I execute:

View -> Zoom actual size

what is show on the display is just bigger of almost one centimeter on both axis X & Y.

In whic way I re-calibrate my display?

I use Windows10, with a couple of monitor SAMSUNG S24C300 at 1920 x 1080 and the video card is NVIDIA GeForce GT610.

Any suggestion is appreciate.

Leo

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6680
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2015, 13:15:05 pm »
Hello,

I think that currently there is no setting to calibrate the size display for a specific screen.

I tried on mine ; a square of 100x100 mm is 105x105 on the screen.

Maybe it can be done with a script or a plugin.

Also you can ask for adding a setting to do that in the "features request" for a future release.

++
David

Offline Garyhlucas

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1424
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2015, 14:22:01 pm »
Leo,
Why would you need to do that?  Next you'll be looking for the bottle of Whiteout. ;D
Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1839
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2015, 14:22:14 pm »
Quote
I need to show on the display my drawing scale 1:1,

It is not possible to show a drawing 1:1 on the screen. The size of the image depends on the resolution of the monitor. There you have some standard resolutions but you can´t calibrate the size.
If you work with a pixel image you can calculate the size of the image. But comparing mm or inch with pixel is something like "in the night it is colder then outside".

ralf

Offline Jeff_Birt

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2015, 15:16:53 pm »
One neat thing that Microsoft did when they came out with the WPF (Windows Presentation Foundation) 6-7 years ago was to allow displaying things in a fixed size no matter the display resolution. In other words if your display has a .27mm pixel pitch, that gives you about 3.704 pixels/mm. You can tell WPF to display something 10mmx10mm and it will calculate the number of pixels it should be based on your monitor. The intention was that UI objects that are best viewed at a certain size can be displayed that size on any monitor.

So, a program can be written to do so, but its usefulness for a CAD/CAM application escapes me. In my estimation it is much more useful to be able to zoom in/out, rotate, etc. so I can see the object in the scale that is most useful for the task at hand. Many parts are going to be larger than the monitor anyhow.

Offline Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3184
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2015, 17:56:33 pm »
One neat thing that Microsoft did when they came out with the WPF (Windows Presentation Foundation) 6-7 years ago was to allow displaying things in a fixed size no matter the display resolution. In other words if your display has a .27mm pixel pitch, that gives you about 3.704 pixels/mm. You can tell WPF to display something 10mmx10mm and it will calculate the number of pixels it should be based on your monitor. The intention was that UI objects that are best viewed at a certain size can be displayed that size on any monitor.

So, a program can be written to do so, but its usefulness for a CAD/CAM application escapes me. In my estimation it is much more useful to be able to zoom in/out, rotate, etc. so I can see the object in the scale that is most useful for the task at hand. Many parts are going to be larger than the monitor anyhow.

=1  ;)
My 2¢

Win10 (64 bit, CB(1.0)rc 1(64 bit) Mach3, ESS, G540, Endurance Laser.

Offline WireCut

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2015, 13:55:36 pm »
Thanks for the comment.

One workaround shall be to change the zoom increment when I move the mouse wheel.

Ho to change the zoom increment?


What I need to do is to verify if my drawing will be fit a complex part with a lot of curves that is difficult to re-make the drawing.


The idea to calibrate the SW with the type of monitor came from the pre-history of the PC.

I remember when I was using AutoCad 1.0 with DOS on a true IBM PC on early years 80, with the monocromatic screen and Hercules card,  that was possible to calibrate the program in order to correctly show circles and square.

I was thinking that today, 33 year later that this function was a standard on a graphics program.

Ciao

Leo

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6680
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2015, 16:06:11 pm »
Hello,

Maybe you can do that with your VGA card, on my card (ATI) I can adjust the display width/height (look on the advanced features of your VGA driver)

++
David

Offline Dragonfly

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2498
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2015, 16:44:58 pm »
Some graphic packages, like CorelDraw!, have a built-in function for calibrating the screen rulers. Based on the physical dimensions of the visual area and number of pixels along X and Y accordingly.
But no matter how carefully I measure and enter the values absolute accuracy is not achievable. 1:1 display size though becomes near enough to actual size if I want to show a design to a customer in natural proportions.

Best way I see with CamBam is to export the geometry back to .DXF, then open it with an appropriate program and print on paper.

Offline WireCut

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1:1 scale on display.
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2015, 22:56:30 pm »
The idea to export in DXF and the print in scale one to one is good to solve the actual requirement, but in future  prefer the fastest way to present the right proportion and dimentions directly on the screen, for fast check.

Offline Garyhlucas

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1424
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2015, 01:15:45 am »
If you are drawing this part by hand and have a cad program that can import an image there is an easier way.  Set the object up and snap a photo as squarely to it as you can and from as far away as you can to reduce parallax error.  Import the picture and trace it using lines, arcs, beziers whatever.  Then measure it any place you can also measure on the actual object and rescale the drawing so that dimension is exactly the same, done.  I have brought lots of complex hard to measure parts into 2D and 3D cad this way and with todays high pixel resolution cameras it works even better.
Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/

Offline WireCut

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2015, 11:15:14 am »
Hi Garylucas,

thanks for you suggestion.

You push me to think to use the flatbed scanner, and it works great.

Thanks to all for your support.

Leo

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4847
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: New Plugin
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2015, 16:50:22 pm »
Try this  :D

1. unzip and place the CustomZoom.dll in your CamBam plugins folder

2. It will appear in the Plugins menu as "Custom Zoom"

3. Click the GetZoom button to get a value for the current zoom setting
This gives you an idea of what to enter for the desired zoom, a lower value zooms out.

4. Enter a number in the lower text box for the desired zoom value then press the SetZoom button
CamBam will update the screen to the new setting.

Repeat step 4 until you get the desired size.

On my system (mm) the default zoom value is 3.779528 if you use inches it will be x25.4 making 96

It will remember the zoom value you entered until CamBam is closed.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2015, 17:34:44 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline WireCut

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1:1 scale on display.
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2015, 23:46:10 pm »
Hi EddyCurrent,

this plugin do exactly what I need!

Greath!!!

Thanks for the suggestion  ... and to say thank you in a significant way, and if you're a maker I suggest you go see this site theremino.com and in particular the section CNC.

Leo

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4847
    • View Profile
Re: How to calibrate, in order to show real 1: scale on display.
« Reply #14 on: November 21, 2015, 18:02:39 pm »
Another way would be using a 3D Mouse such as this; http://www.3dconnexion.co.uk/products/spacemouse.html
it allows very fine control in all directions.
Made in England