Author Topic: Corner - projection point  (Read 10800 times)

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7408
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Corner - projection point
« on: November 27, 2016, 03:05:18 am »
hello,

A first version of a new plugin that allow to do corner with 2 polylines, or to draw the projection point.

it appears in the toolbar.

no Undo currently, polyline must be composed by one unique straight segment.

http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/Corner/corner.swf

++
David
« Last Edit: November 28, 2016, 00:16:34 am by dh42 »

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8969
    • View Profile
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2016, 03:14:55 am »
Wow, David!  That's one of those "simple things" that could prove to be VERY useful!

Did you write that?

LLoyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
  • Made in England
    • View Profile
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2016, 09:01:08 am »
Yes, it's a nice one  ;D
Filmed in Supermarionation

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7408
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2016, 15:38:24 pm »
Hello,

Quote
Did you write that?

Yes, and there is more code to confirm the selection and do the toolbar than to do the projection/corner itself lol !

++
David

Offline Garyhlucas

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1463
    • View Profile
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2016, 18:03:13 pm »
David,
You are making a habit of creating all the missing bits in CamBam. Keep it up!
Thanks.
Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7408
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2016, 20:56:30 pm »
Hello

If all goes well, the next on the list is "hatch" ... but be patient ;)

corner plugin tested on dev version, and it works too (but of course, not on linux  >:()

++
David
« Last Edit: November 27, 2016, 21:08:53 pm by dh42 »

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7408
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2016, 00:21:27 am »
Hello,

New version 1.1

Undo added
Translation added
Beep when error + messages in the log window

http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/Corner.html

++
David

Offline onekk

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
    • View Profile
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2016, 07:14:51 am »
Well done David!, nice addon and interface.

Could you kindly publish the sources?

I could work on Linux, to see if there are some quirks at least on the 0.9.8 version.

Regards

Carlo D. (onekk)

eShapeoko #343 750x1000 mm + GRBL + bCNC + CamBam

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7408
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2016, 17:00:30 pm »
Hello,

VB source attached

on my linux install, the toolbar appears, but if I click a button Cambam terminate.

++
David
« Last Edit: November 29, 2016, 17:02:22 pm by dh42 »

Offline onekk

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
    • View Profile
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2016, 10:29:06 am »
Many thanks, David i will try to implement this in C# to point out the Linux problem, as I've said in Linux developing in VB.NET is not possible, (even if a VB compiler exist, but it is in early stage).

Regards.

UPDATE: The Line2F Line intersection works I'm using to obtain the corners in the attached images, of my almost finished box auto plugin revised.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2016, 16:01:47 pm by onekk »
Carlo D. (onekk)

eShapeoko #343 750x1000 mm + GRBL + bCNC + CamBam

Offline sibianul

  • Wookie
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2016, 11:06:39 am »
Today I just installed a few more plugin for cambam, this is one of them that I though it will help me, I'm doing this operation quite frequently, but it seems it's not working in my case, will there be a feature release of this plugin to make it work with lines elements also, not just polylines ?

Thank you.

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8969
    • View Profile
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2016, 11:39:52 am »
Sibanul,

Is there a reason why the lines require to remain lines, instead of being converted to polylines?

(I agree that the plugin should work with both, but I try to never have lines remaining in my drawings, because so many different things do NOT work with them as they do with polylines.)

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline onekk

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
    • View Profile
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2016, 16:19:41 pm »
I think that the problem with the plugin working only with lines is the Line2F.Lineinstersect that has two lines in the paramters input, the other way to imlement this is to:

1= select the polyline to extend
2) select what side of the polyline you want to extend.
3) select the other polyline
4) select the side of the opther polyline to extend.

Internally the plugin has to:

1) extract the selected segment of the first polyline
2) extreac the selected segment of the other polyliine
3) find throught the Line2F,intersection  the point2F of intersections
4) substitute the appropriate point on the first polyline with the point obtained
5) do the same for the other polyline .

6) eventually joint the two polyline.

Carlo D. (onekk)

eShapeoko #343 750x1000 mm + GRBL + bCNC + CamBam

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7408
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Corner - projection point
« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2016, 22:16:27 pm »
Hello,

Quote
but it seems it's not working in my case, will there be a feature release of this plugin to make it work with lines elements also, not just polylines ?

Currently, this plugin works only with polylines (that contain only one segment), just select the "Line" objects then ctrl P to convert to polylines before to use the plugin.

Lines will be added in a future release.

++
David