CamBam

Resources => Scripts and Plugins => Topic started by: EddyCurrent on June 27, 2016, 21:27:33 pm

Title: Inlay Toolpath plugin
Post by: EddyCurrent on June 27, 2016, 21:27:33 pm
Following from this thread; http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=5841.msg46194#msg46194

It's best to start a new thread for a plugin so any changes, comments, etc. can be more easily collated.

1. unzip the attachment, move the dll to CamBam 'Plugins' folder, restart CamBam
2. The plugin will appear in the 'Plugins' menu called 'Inlay Toolpath'
3. translation code added
4. default value of tool diameter should change depending upon CamBam units selected (6mm or 1/4")
5. Undo points added (different to the ones in the script)
6. A new layer is created called 'Inlay Toolpath' + {tool diameter}
   e.g. 'Inlay Toolpath 6'
   This gives a reminder of the tool diameter selected.
   The new toolpath polyline will be added to this layer
7. A new layer is created each time the plugin is used

Question: what needs to be done next with this ?

Please find version 1.0. attached.
Many thanks to billt for the essential code and idea.
Title: Re: Inlay Toolpath plugin
Post by: dave benson on June 27, 2016, 22:22:43 pm
HI Eddy
Just tried out the plugin before racing off this morning worked faultlessly Good work.
I'll play with it some more later tonight to see if I can think  of anything else to add to it.
Thanks again for another tool in the toolbox!. :)
Dave
Title: Re: Inlay Toolpath plugin
Post by: lloydsp on June 27, 2016, 22:26:48 pm
Eddy, please also see: http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=5841.msg46413

I much appreciate this plugin!

LLoyd
Title: Re: Inlay Toolpath plugin
Post by: EddyCurrent on June 28, 2016, 06:59:05 am
I was just the robot who made the plugin (see avatar  :D), the two people to really thank are, airnocker for coming up with the request, and billt for coming up with the marvellous Python code.
You are both correct, it is good and I particularly like the method for achieving it, well done Bill.

Lloyd, did the default Tool Diameter show as 0.25 ?
Title: Re: Inlay Toolpath plugin
Post by: Dragonfly on June 28, 2016, 17:29:32 pm
Tried it today with the RR logo and tool diameter 0.7 mm. Did what I expected. :)


Title: Re: Inlay Toolpath plugin
Post by: EddyCurrent on June 29, 2016, 08:19:02 am
Also forgot to thank Dragonfly for drawing our attention to this;

"But I am talking about flat inlays. Male inserts from thin material and female shallow flat bottomed pockets. Using a cylindrical tool, not V-engraver."
Title: Re: Inlay Toolpath plugin
Post by: Dragonfly on June 29, 2016, 13:54:43 pm
Pity we don't have a 'cheers' smiley here. :)
Title: Re: Inlay Toolpath plugin
Post by: EddyCurrent on January 09, 2017, 20:13:29 pm
Update attached

Has been compiled with .NET version 4 assemblies and references to CamBam v1.0 dlls

Has been modified and tested to work on;

    Windows
    Linux

Works with CamBam version 1 ONLY
Title: Re: Inlay Toolpath plugin
Post by: oivindhr on August 10, 2019, 23:46:58 pm
I tried your plugin today and it is very cool!

For rest machining it would have been really nice if it was possible to choose between correcting inner corners, outer corners or both.

I hope you add this feature in next version!