CamBam

Announcements => Latest News => Topic started by: 10bulls on October 02, 2019, 11:11:42 am

Title: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: 10bulls on October 02, 2019, 11:11:42 am
Another new CamBam release V1.0 (rc-2) is available...

http://cambamcnc.com/downloads/#devt
and for Linux...
http://cambamcnc.com/ref/ref.linux

Release notes... (http://cambamcnc.com/doc/dw/1.0.0/whats-new.html)

Notable changes in this release:

More work on the gcode output file prompting behaviour (as discussed in this thread (http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=8202.0))

Some more Mono tweaks and fixes...
Added new config options 'Menu Font Family' and 'Menu Font Size'.  This should hopefully mean no longer avoiding later libmono releases that included larger hard coded font sizes.

File open now also filters for capitalized file extensions (so .DXF and .dxf will match... but not DxF <- just wrong! )

The offline help files are now included in the linux program downloads.

I have also added a script 'install-launcher.sh' to the program folder the create a program launcher.
I am still looking for a reliable way to set the .cb file extension handling, but once the launcher is created, it just requires a few clicks on a .cb file to set the default program as the new program launcher.

Just to reiterate the rc-1 notes...

Quote
The rc-2 tag denotes 'release candidate', which implies that, at long last, we nearing the point of making V1.0 the recommended production release.

The main aim of this release has been to work through remaining bugs and issues, particularly where these prevented moving over from 0.9.8

If you are yet to try V1.0 we recommend doing so.
If there are issues with this release preventing you from moving from 0.9.8, please let us know!

Note, V1.0 and 0.9.8 can be installed on the same computer and run in parallel.
Version 1.0 now requires the .NET framework version 4 to installed.

Thank you again for your support, feedback and patience while we work to make this the best CamBam release yet!

Thank you again for the great feedback from the rc-1 release!

Regards

Andy Payne (10bulls)
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 02, 2019, 12:00:32 pm
Tested font selection and it works. Is it set to use only the 'Regular' font variation?
I may now risk upgrading Mono to the latest stable version.
Thanks!
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 02, 2019, 12:30:15 pm
Update:
Installed mono-complete v. 6.4.0.
Best result with (can you imagine?)... font Arial :)

Only the 'Aligner' plugin drop down list box stays with large letters but I assume some change is required in the plugin itself.

P.S. Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial with Mate desktop.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 02, 2019, 13:07:39 pm
Found two spots where font size stays large.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: onekk on October 03, 2019, 10:58:23 am
for the reliable way to add associations, in Linux,

Code: [Select]
sudo xdg-mime install --mode system x-cambam.xml
sudo xdg-mime default cambam.desktop application/x-cambam
sudo xdg-icon-resource install --context mimetypes --size 32 cambam.png application-x-cambam

but cambam.desktop have to be taylored accordig the installation directory, mybe some sed or awk script ti adapt a generic cambam.desktop like the following

Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
 Type=Application
 Version=1.0
 Name=CamBam
 Icon=<your-home>/CamBam0.9.8/cambam.png
 Exec=<your home>/CamBam0.9.8/cambam.sh %f
 MimeType=application/x-cambam
 Categories=Graphics;3DGraphics;Engineering;

and cambam,sh


Code: [Select]
cd ~/CamBam0.9.8/
# MONO_LOG_LEVEL="debug" MONO_LOG_MASK="dll"

mono ./CamBam.exe "$1"



and finally the icon attached.


Generally work, it is Desktop independent as it use the xdg-mime associations mechanism,, generally available on most dirtributions.


Regards

Carlo D.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: 10bulls on October 03, 2019, 13:23:55 pm
Tested font selection and it works. Is it set to use only the 'Regular' font variation?
I may now risk upgrading Mono to the latest stable version.
Thanks!
Thank you very much for the testing!  Yes, only Regular variations are used.

Some plugins may need a tweak to get the correct font size.
When I get a moment I will look into a best way to do this that works on mono and won't break on windows.
Ideally, I think a higher level API call to create menus would be better, but that's for another day.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: 10bulls on October 03, 2019, 13:33:25 pm
for the reliable way to add associations, in Linux, ...

Thank you very much Carlo.

I have uploaded a minor change to the latest mono -rc2 packages released yesterday.
(it is the same filename sorry, so you will need to re-download).

The install-launcher.sh script should now also setup the mime attachments.

It seems to work on Unbuntu, Mint and Raspberry Pi (the pi needed a reboot to pick up the file icons).

Thanks again to everyone for the linux testing!
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: dh42 on October 03, 2019, 23:47:53 pm
Hello

Quote
The install-launcher.sh script should now also setup the mime attachments.

Tried on Ubuntu 14.04, when I run the "./install-launcher.sh" command, Linux return something like "permission denied"  ??? :-[

++
David
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 04, 2019, 07:01:19 am
Perhaps you should use 'sudo' before the command to run it with root privileges.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: lloydsp on October 04, 2019, 10:44:10 am
'sudo' is a great workaround for some privilege-related issues in 'IX environments, but won't lick 'em all.

You may have to create an account with higher privileges, and run the package within that.

I would not choose to do so voluntarily -- 'twould be better if the softs would run as a non-administrator.

Lloyd
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: 10bulls on October 04, 2019, 12:06:26 pm
Tried on Ubuntu 14.04, when I run the "./install-launcher.sh" command, Linux return something like "permission denied"  ??? :-[
I have so far focused on getting the Linux installation process working in the 'user' context, so was trying to avoid any sudo commands for the time being.
(I will work on a system install script / instructions once the user one is working OK)

Did the script fail straight away?  It may just need the 'execute' permission setting.
In the file browser gui, right click the script, select properties, then permissions.
'Allow executing file as program' should be ticked.
..or from the command line
Code: [Select]
cd ~/CamBam1.0
chmod +x install-launcher.sh

It may also be helpful to run the script from the command line to see if there are any error messages displayed.

Code: [Select]
cd ~/CamBam1.0
./install-launcher.sh


The full script is currently...

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

dest=/home/"$USER"/.local/share/applications/cambam.desktop

echo "#!/usr/bin/env xdg-open" > "$dest"
echo "[Desktop Entry]" >> "$dest"
echo "Type=Application" >> "$dest"
echo "Version=1.0" >> "$dest"
echo "Name=CamBam 1.0" >> "$dest"
echo "Exec=$PWD/cambam.sh %f" >> "$dest"
echo "Path=$PWD" >> "$dest"
echo "Terminal=false" >> "$dest"
echo "Icon=$PWD/CamBam.svg" >> "$dest"
echo "MimeType=application/x-cambam" >> "$dest"
echo "Categories=Graphics;3DGraphics;Engineering;" >> "$dest"

xdg-mime install cambam-mime.xml
xdg-mime default cambam.desktop application/x-cambam
xdg-icon-resource install --context mimetypes --size 64 CamBam.png application-x-cambam

The last three lines were added in yesterdays 'sneaky' update.

If the launcher icon is created, but it then fails on setting up the mime types, try running each of those last few lines one at a time to see where it is failing.

Thank you for the testing!  I tried this script on a few Linux distros and it seemed to work OK... even on the raspi.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: ubiquity on October 06, 2019, 02:13:20 am
[Fixed - Thank You!]
After the issues outlined below I restarted the machine and reran the script in terminal
This time the appropriate directories and files were created together with a menu based launcher.
Also the mime associations are working so CamBam appears to be working fine.

Where should I run this script?
I am using Linux Mint and rc-2 from Oct 2 2019
I tried running directly from the CamBam1.0 directory and I tried running in terminal but neither option created the launcher icon - no error message was received.
Then I tried line by line in terminal and it failed at echo "#!/usr/bin/env xdg-open" > "$dest" with the error
bash: !/usr/bin/env: event not found
I continued with
echo "[Desktop Entry]" >>"$dest" and received the error
bash: /home/hmsadmin/.local/share/applications/cambam.desktop: No such file or directory

When I got this error I checked the contents of .local/share and there indeed is no applications directory and hence no file either.

My CamBam1.0 directory is installed in /home for the user hmsadmin
Have I somehow installed CamBam incorrectly?

I also noted when attempting to open a .cb file using Open with other application that when I browse to the CamBam1.0 directory to select CamBam.exe it does not appear in the list of executable files (although of course I know it does exist as I can open CamBam directly using both it and cambam.sh.

In addition when I do open CamBam I get the error messages saying Library path not found - checking the .config/CamBam plus 1.0 directory I  noticed the subdirectories styles,materials,tools,machinedefs and post are missing.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: onekk on October 07, 2019, 08:29:41 am
if you have no /.local/share/applications, you have to create it, usually it is present, but in some "new" installation is not.

for the #!/usr/bin/env, some distribution can't cope with them, maybe there is some "compatibility" package to install.

The most easy way is to modify the line in #/usr/bin/bash (generally most if not all Linux distribution, have a form of bash compatible shell on board).

Maybe Andy could make a more articulated script that can test and eventually create the "~/.local/share/applications"

I have give up to use Ubuntu derivatives some time ago with the rise of systemd so i could not help you in details.

Regards

Carlo D.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: ubiquity on October 07, 2019, 14:19:52 pm
Thanks Carlo,
Everything is working as expected now - I have amended my previous post with an explanation.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: onekk on October 07, 2019, 22:00:06 pm
ubiquity
Happy to hear that you have solved your problem and that all is working now.

But from your post (the one you amended) I haven't understood how you solved the problem.

Maybe these informations will be useful for another person who will have your same problem in future.

Regards
Carlo D.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: ubiquity on October 08, 2019, 11:35:29 am
Initially I had three problems.
The first problem was after installing CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2) on Linux Mint the Offline Help files were not included in the distribution.
This problem was addressed in the 30th September release.
The second problem was that, in order to open .cb files directly, the file associations needed to be addressed with the mime references. This was expected to be addressed through running the (latest) install-launcher.sh script.
In my case I think I ran the script directly, rather than in terminal, and nothing happened- no launcher was created and I could still not open .cb files directly. As mentioned in my first post this seemed to be perhaps because the creation of the ~/.local/share/applications directory failed.
Ultimately I rebooted the machine then ran the install-launcher.sh script again, in terminal, and it worked to create the directory and set up the mime references (as originally expected).
The third problem (which I think still remains) was that the libraries were not created and populated during the install. These I copied from the alpha release that had been previously installed.
I hope this is sufficient explanation - I have no idea why the initial running of the script failed only that ultimately it worked after repeated attempts.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: 10bulls on October 08, 2019, 12:26:27 pm
Thank you for the update!

I made a minor change to the install script to create the application folder in case it is not present.
This will be in the next release, but current script is shown below.

Regarding the system folders, apologies if the installation instructions are not very clear.
The binaries download does not include the system folders.
These need to be downloaded and installed separately, as described on Step 2 on the linux reference page.
http://www.cambam.info/ref/ref.linux

This is done as the system folders contain user configured files that we don't want to overwrite.
The system folders usually do not change often, whereas there may be frequent releases of the binary download.

To extract the system folders without overwriting your existing files, use the following command:
(I will add this to the linux install instructions page)

Code: [Select]
tar -C ~/.config --skip-old-files -xzf ~/Downloads/CamBam1.0-mono.system.tgz

The third problem (which I think still remains) was that the libraries were not created and populated during the install. These I copied from the alpha release that had been previously installed.

When the system folders are present, are you now able to use 'Help - View samples' from within CamBam ?

Thank you again for the great feedback!

install-launcher.sh
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

appdir=/home/"$USER"/.local/share/applications/
dest="$appdir/cambam.desktop"

mkdir -p "$appdir"

echo "#!/usr/bin/env xdg-open" > "$dest"
echo "[Desktop Entry]" >> "$dest"
echo "Type=Application" >> "$dest"
echo "Version=1.0" >> "$dest"
echo "Name=CamBam 1.0" >> "$dest"
echo "Exec=$PWD/cambam.sh %f" >> "$dest"
echo "Path=$PWD" >> "$dest"
echo "Terminal=false" >> "$dest"
echo "Icon=$PWD/CamBam.svg" >> "$dest"
echo "MimeType=application/x-cambam" >> "$dest"
echo "Categories=Graphics;3DGraphics;Engineering;" >> "$dest"

xdg-mime install cambam-mime.xml
xdg-mime default cambam.desktop application/x-cambam
xdg-icon-resource install --context mimetypes --size 64 CamBam.png application-x-cambam


Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: onekk on October 09, 2019, 10:08:26 am
ubiquity Thanks for the detailed explanations.

I see that the new install_launcher.sh script now has the proper lines to create the applications directory, and the problem could be solved by this line.

And all the others problems, I think are solved by 10bulls post.

Regards

Carlo D.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: onekk on October 11, 2019, 10:38:07 am
Some reports on Linux:

The lastest mono update at least for "Debian" (actually I'm using the fork of Debian without systemd specifically Devuan 9.0 "stable"), make some minor think broke for 0.9.8.

Some incons in icon bar became with a "purple" background.

So  I've installed Cambam Plus V1.0 (rc-2) after a long time without trying it.

I'm very pleased to note that my "development version" of BoxesXT plugin work without problems (even if it is simply copied from the 0.98 plugins directory, without recompiling and linking to the proper 1.0 libraries, strange but it is working)

So far I've noted some little quirks.


I've found the menu font size in options, but another part of the interface that have to be taylored is the (Drawing and System) and the properties, that are not honouring the size of the menu, maybe not the same size, but a bigger font size according to the scale of the "menu font size".

i.e if the interface is using the size 9 font size and if I set it to 11 or 12 also the font size of these font has to be enlarged.


Another problem is that the help function F1 is freezing the machine, it fire the html mime association, in my case an editor but it freeze the desktop interface, I have to enter in another console and shitdown the machine.

More test to come.

Regards

Carlo D.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 12, 2019, 11:00:16 am
Report on Cb for Linux:
The 'Resize' dialog does not update the values according to new entered size or percentage. Resizing itself is carried on though.
Transformation matrix dialog has the name of operation and axis name repeated several times. See the screenshot.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: ubiquity on October 13, 2019, 07:37:52 am
I'm really not sure if I should be posting another issue to this thread, or starting a new one.

Rotating the view in Windows works well using Alt+Left however in Linux (Mint 19) I cannot get the view to rotate at all even after changing the modes. Alt+Left moves the whole CamBam window and the other mode options do nothing.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: 10bulls on October 13, 2019, 07:50:13 am
I'm really not sure if I should be posting another issue to this thread, or starting a new one.

Rotating the view in Windows works well using Alt+Left however in Linux (Mint 19) I cannot get the view to rotate at all even after changing the modes. Alt+Left moves the whole CamBam window and the other mode options do nothing.
The linux page describes ways to reassign the default window drag key for various distributions...
http://www.cambam.info/ref/ref.linux#mint18

For a quick alternative, if you press Alt and the Windows key (super key), then click and drag, this should also work.

Note, you need to have the ALT+Left rotation mode set for the above two methods to work.

Unfortunately the other mouse/key combinations don't appear to get passed to the program from the desktop manager.
 
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: ubiquity on October 13, 2019, 21:33:34 pm
Thanks.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 14, 2019, 17:57:22 pm
Ever since I started using CB for Linux I felt frustrated at the File Open dialog which missed the usual buttons like 'Go up one level', ,New Folder', etc.
Today, however, hoovering the mouse cursor over the upper part of the window I noticed that those buttons are there and raise when under the cursor. And even work. But there are no graphical symbols on them to be distinguished from the grey rim color.
How does the 'File Open' dialog look on the screens of your Linux systems? Are the buttons visible?
Mine is Ubuntu Mate 16.04 64-bit.
See the attached picture.



Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 14, 2019, 18:05:56 pm
And while the 'Release candidate' topic is still hot I'd like to ask once again is something planned about reorganizing Layer and Machining panes?
Or an option to lock layer tree automatic expansion upon entity selection?
At least when selecting objects for a MOP from the screen. This is really annoying because when object selection is finished the selected MOP is not active anymore and usually not seen on the screen. One has to fold the layer tree and find the right MOP. And as it had happened a few times - select a wrong MOP.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: ubiquity on October 14, 2019, 21:52:54 pm
Here is Linux Mint 19 dialogue

The Back button is greyed out as there is no previous window while the Up folder button is not greyed out as there is a super folder to the one displayed.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: dh42 on October 14, 2019, 21:57:53 pm
Hello

Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 32 bits

Buttons are present, but the requester is in English although Linux is a French version ...

++
David
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: ubiquity on October 15, 2019, 05:53:27 am
I have been attempting to use rc-2 on Linux Mint to design a bas relief and finding it very difficult to see either the surface created from a bitmap, the MOP or the toolpath. As a result I thought I would import the bitmap so I could use it to approximate the outline for a rough cut but CamBam hangs when I choose Draw - Bitmap.
I can use the Draw - Surface from Bitmap just not the straight bitmap.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 15, 2019, 08:59:09 am
@ubiquity
Check the 'Display mode' line in the Options. If it is GDI 3D object rendering is very poor.

And I suspect all those issues are connected to display hardware and drivers. My video card is an integrated i915 and there are missing microcode drivers for it in the current kernel.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: 10bulls on October 15, 2019, 12:49:20 pm
And while the 'Release candidate' topic is still hot I'd like to ask once again is something planned about reorganizing Layer and Machining panes?
Or an option to lock layer tree automatic expansion upon entity selection?
At least when selecting objects for a MOP from the screen. This is really annoying because when object selection is finished the selected MOP is not active anymore and usually not seen on the screen. One has to fold the layer tree and find the right MOP. And as it had happened a few times - select a wrong MOP.
I have added a new config option Selected Entity Focus
If set False, selecting a drawing object will now not automatically expand its parent layer.
This will be in the rc-3 release.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Bob La Londe on October 15, 2019, 16:09:52 pm
And while the 'Release candidate' topic is still hot I'd like to ask once again is something planned about reorganizing Layer and Machining panes?
Or an option to lock layer tree automatic expansion upon entity selection?
At least when selecting objects for a MOP from the screen. This is really annoying because when object selection is finished the selected MOP is not active anymore and usually not seen on the screen. One has to fold the layer tree and find the right MOP. And as it had happened a few times - select a wrong MOP.
I have added a new config option Selected Entity Focus
If set False, selecting a drawing object will now not automatically expand its parent layer.
This will be in the rc-3 release.

With a hot key for quick switch?
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: 10bulls on October 15, 2019, 16:35:42 pm
With a hot key for quick switch?
...there goes my coffee break.  :'(

OK, since you are officially 'Bob deux License' I'll look into it.  ;)


Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Bob La Londe on October 15, 2019, 17:09:44 pm
With a hot key for quick switch?
...there goes my coffee break.  :'(

OK, since you are officially 'Bob deux License' I'll look into it.  ;)

Just a suggestion.  A lot of the features I'd like have mixed reviews for other users, so I think most of them should atleast be quick swappable.  In this case I have experienced both sides of the issue, and there are times when either might be desirable. 

I would note that the arrow association plugin helps a little with this as well.  I turn it on and off as needed.  A quick collapse button for dropping the trees down to the top levels might also be useful in the same sort of help with knowing where you are sort of way. 

FYI:  I have not yet installed the RC version on my main computer.  Only on this test system. 
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 15, 2019, 18:53:34 pm
I have added a new config option Selected Entity Focus
If set False, selecting a drawing object will now not automatically expand its parent layer.
This will be in the rc-3 release.
That's nice! Thank you!
I suppose this will not affect manual expanding/folding of layer trees.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: ubiquity on October 15, 2019, 21:46:56 pm
@Dragonfly,
Thanks! Switched to OpenGL and visibility of the bitmaps is much improved.
Draw - Bitmap no longer hangs and bitmap is visible.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: dh42 on October 16, 2019, 03:07:34 am


Hello

Report on Cb for Linux:
Transformation matrix dialog has the name of operation and axis name repeated several times. See the screenshot.

Yes, and when used in another language than English, The first word is in English and the second is the translated version, if that can help to find the bug.

Quote
The 'Resize' dialog does not update the values according to new entered size or percentage. Resizing itself is carried on though.

Yes and the 3 buttons for mm/in, in/mm and 100% too
 
++
David
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 16, 2019, 09:04:44 am
Quote
With a hot key for quick switch?
And a shortcut for Transform -> Align :D
As it's one of the most used functions but lack a shortcut.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: onekk on October 17, 2019, 11:16:36 am
Shortcuts lacks for many "useful"  functions, like "Add Holding Tabs" and "Remove Holding Tabs" and "Break at Points" in the Polyline menu.

Maybe some work has to be done to find the appropriate shortcuts and "suggest" them to Andy.

Regards

Carlo D.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: Dragonfly on October 18, 2019, 14:18:36 pm
Another question to Andy:
Similar to 'Paste format' and 'Apply style' is it possible to add 'Apply template' function?
Currently if I have started a project from scratch and not by 'New from template' I cannot use a template directly. (Or don't know how.) There is a solution by copy/paste into a new file from template, write over or use different name but it is quite sluggish. Especially if there is more than one layer and there are MOPs already.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: 10bulls on October 18, 2019, 20:26:47 pm
Another question to Andy:
Similar to 'Paste format' and 'Apply style' is it possible to add 'Apply template' function?
Currently if I have started a project from scratch and not by 'New from template' I cannot use a template directly. (Or don't know how.) There is a solution by copy/paste into a new file from template, write over or use different name but it is quite sluggish. Especially if there is more than one layer and there are MOPs already.
There is some work planned for drawing templates (after V1.0 becomes the production release).

Drawing templates will be accessible and managed through the system tree (similar to how post processors are managed).  Here you will be able to right click a template and select 'set as default template'.  Create from current drawing would also be useful.

It should then be simple to add another menu command 'Apply to current drawing'.

I would find this useful.  I too have started drawings and decided later to use it as a 'laser' part for example.
Title: Re: CamBam plus V1.0 (rc-2)
Post by: onekk on October 19, 2019, 15:54:18 pm
Andy, on Linux, the Open File Dialog is broken on the icons, by the latest mono update at least in 0.9.8 the icons are usable, I have done report as a bug with the relevant versions (in one computer I have both 0.9.8 and 1.0 rc2 and Mono Latest from mono repository, in another computer I have 0.9.8 with a mono release slightly older).

Regards

Carlo D.