Author Topic: Hey Andy, What can we do?  (Read 7629 times)

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7360
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Hey Andy, What can we do?
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2023, 16:48:00 pm »
Hello

Quote
When is the last time someone communicated with Andy?

Last year (august)

I also know that the problem is not a lack of interest in Cambam but simply a lack of time to do everything, I can't said more.

++
David

Offline Bob La Londe

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4427
  • ^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.
    • View Profile
    • CNC Molds N Stuff
Re: Hey Andy, What can we do?
« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2023, 20:52:05 pm »
Echoing what Lloyd said on a modestly decent system CamBam flies for me.  I run complex 3D meshes all the time with dozens of operations and its pretty quick.  I do think 64 bit on a 64bit system (what I currently run) is significantly faster than 32 bit.

I did run into lag when the video card didn't like the format on older 32 bit systems, and sometimes when running multiple complex meshes in a single file.  Sometimes even with a lot of complex 3D mapped poly lines.  Generally a 3rd generation PC has been able to keep me upto speed with no issues.  I tend to buy refurbished or new old stock PCs that are 2-4 generations older than the latest and greatest top of the line machines. 

Even with 64/64 I still see a little slow down if I have a lot of complex geometry displayed at once.  The cure is I organize everything on layers and only show what I am currently working on. 
Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1953
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: Hey Andy, What can we do?
« Reply #17 on: October 12, 2023, 10:24:21 am »

Even with 64/64 I still see a little slow down if I have a lot of complex geometry displayed at once.  The cure is I organize everything on layers and only show what I am currently working on. 


It is not necessary that the 3D geometries are displayed when toolpaths are calculated. If complex 3D geometries are set to invisible, even the currently processed ones, this brings a lot of speed.

ralf

Offline Garyhlucas

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1459
    • View Profile
Re: Hey Andy, What can we do?
« Reply #18 on: October 14, 2023, 01:42:31 am »
I’d  happily pay a yearly maintenance fee to keep CamBam alive and relevant. I realized the other day I been using it for 10 years. Its kind of like the Leatherman tool in my pocket.
Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8931
    • View Profile
Re: Hey Andy, What can we do?
« Reply #19 on: October 14, 2023, 11:43:31 am »
That's a good analogy, Gary.  I just 'whip it out' without even thinking.  I use it for lots of quick drawing work besides just its CAM functions.

I'd be happy to pay for an updated version, also. (Of course, depending upon the price! <grin>)

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3349
    • View Profile
Re: Hey Andy, What can we do?
« Reply #20 on: October 14, 2023, 11:53:46 am »
That's a good analogy, Gary.  I just 'whip it out' without even thinking.  I use it for lots of quick drawing work besides just its CAM functions.

I'd be happy to pay for an updated version, also. (Of course, depending upon the price! <grin>)

Lloyd

The same here. Although I use CB as hobbyist only. Commercial users need better support..
My 2¢

Win11, CB(1.0)rc 1(64 bit) Mach3, ESS, G540, 4th Axis, Endurance Laser.

Offline lapsteel

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Hey Andy, What can we do?
« Reply #21 on: July 14, 2024, 17:00:20 pm »
Lloyd, apparently I'm far more tardy than the performance of CamBam ;-)
I am back at "work" on my projects and fired up the last computer drive I had loaded in my HP desktop and the software is seemingly working great. I know I did do something that fixed my problem, just can't recall what it was - but you were correct that it was within my own software/OS system.
Cheers!
Donn

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8931
    • View Profile
Re: Hey Andy, What can we do?
« Reply #22 on: July 14, 2024, 17:11:55 pm »
Well, HOORAY!  The important thing is that it's working for you again!

Good job (no matter what you did!). <grin>

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"