Author Topic: 3D profile problem (  (Read 2078 times)

Offline peetje375

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
3D profile problem (
« on: February 17, 2019, 10:36:21 am »
Hello,

I'm new to 3D profiling with CamBam. I've got an STL I drew with CAD and exported.
In the STL I've got a couple of pockets, one of which has a slope toward the center.
whatever I try, the slope is disregarded and is just made into a pocket (with no slope).

I'm using cutviewer to simulate.

any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Flor

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
    • View Profile
Re: 3D profile problem (
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2019, 11:43:39 am »
Hi Flor
You must enter details like tool number  and diameter in the mop panel.
I quickly simulated this file with some default values (you need to change these in the panel).

Offline peetje375

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: 3D profile problem (
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2019, 11:48:25 am »
Thanks so much, I'll try it.

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4854
    • View Profile
Re: 3D profile problem (
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2019, 14:13:11 pm »
Also try this, file attached.

1. Better to use horizontal and vertical rather than waterline on this model.
2. You have Boundary Method = "selected shapes" but there are no shapes identified in the "Boundary Shape IDs" box.
3. You have Stock Surface = 0 but the surface is actually at 8
(I've just realised that the word 'stock' is misleading here, it means "work piece surface", not the 'stock' item as defined in Machining or Part definition.)
4. Do not use Tool Number = 0, this is a special case that will NOT generate a tool change instruction.

BUT . . . Most of this job is 2D, only the sloping pocket might be 3D but Side Profile could be used.

I used;

1. Edit-Transform-Align (X=none, Y=none, Z=upper) to set top of stock (work piece) to 0
2. Clearance Plane =3 (default), I like to leave most things at default until I understand why I've changed it.
3. Edit-Surface-Silhouette, slice width of 10, this generates polyline profiles to use in other operations.
4. Added holes as profiles but you could use Drill.





« Last Edit: February 17, 2019, 14:16:36 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline peetje375

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: 3D profile problem (
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2019, 15:38:10 pm »
thanks for all the suggestions!

problem was fixed by adjusting the stock surface, I'm used to 2D work so I generally don't pay much attention to that  :-X

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4854
    • View Profile
Re: 3D profile problem (
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2019, 16:12:44 pm »
You are correct about stock surface being the issue but there were several other things that needed fixing to make the job right, so don't ignore those.
Made in England

Offline peetje375

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: 3D profile problem (
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2019, 16:17:05 pm »
Indeed, I've followed your suggestions; used profiles and pockets instead of 1 big 3D profile and used drill operation for the holes.

I've also fixed my tool numbers, etc.

Thanks again!