Author Topic: Drag-Knife Script  (Read 77911 times)

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4526
    • View Profile
Re: Drag-Knife Script
« Reply #120 on: January 15, 2020, 21:14:56 pm »
It's a pleasure.
Made in England

Offline andy_con

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Drag-Knife Script
« Reply #121 on: January 15, 2020, 21:17:06 pm »
It's a pleasure.

one last question, it looks like the inputs into the menu are imperial not metric. is this correct?

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1353
    • View Profile
Re: Drag-Knife Script
« Reply #122 on: January 15, 2020, 21:26:21 pm »
HI Andy
No, most of the plugin's are in drawing units, so they work with both Imp\Metric drawings.
Dave

Offline andy_con

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Drag-Knife Script
« Reply #123 on: January 15, 2020, 21:37:30 pm »
HI Andy
No, most of the plugin's are in drawing units, so they work with both Imp\Metric drawings.
Dave

ok thanks, is there a guide or video on how to use this?

the setting are pretty simple, but once I click ok nothing happens.

im going to make a video once I get this sorted and get the cutting right.

Offline andy_con

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Drag-Knife Script
« Reply #124 on: January 15, 2020, 21:41:43 pm »
the file in question

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1353
    • View Profile
Re: Drag-Knife Script
« Reply #125 on: January 15, 2020, 21:52:03 pm »
Hi Andy
In the CB file I downloaded, there were tool Drag knife paths, but they were large.
I used the plugin with the settings in the pic.

Dave

Offline andy_con

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Drag-Knife Script
« Reply #126 on: January 23, 2020, 15:32:22 pm »
Hi Andy
In the CB file I downloaded, there were tool Drag knife paths, but they were large.
I used the plugin with the settings in the pic.

Dave

what I don't understand is why isn't there a job under machining that I can generate gcode?

when you select drag knife how do you get gcode?

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4526
    • View Profile
Re: Drag-Knife Script
« Reply #127 on: January 23, 2020, 20:28:56 pm »
At the top of the page here;
http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/DragKnife.html

It says,

"This plugin takes selected polylines and generates new polylines that will be used to creates drag-knife tool path.
From the tool path polyline, an engrave MOP must be used to create the actual tool path and G-code."

My advice is therefore to do this;

1. Get your geometry in place, e.g. some text you want to cut out with the drag knife, and convert it to polylines if not already in that form.
2. Make a new layer and set it to be the 'active' layer.
3. Run the Drag Knife plugin, adjusting the parameters to suit.
4. A new set of polylines suitable for the drag knife to follow will be produced in the new layer.
5. Use an 'engrave' machining operation on those polylines to produce the g-code

For more background you could read through the threads for this plugin and prior script.
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=3628.msg23778#msg23778
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=4911.msg37464#msg37464
« Last Edit: January 23, 2020, 20:33:23 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England