Author Topic: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin  (Read 86050 times)

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4565
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2015, 08:18:07 am »
Tau,
Try this; http://www.msigeek.com/715/how-to-troubleshoot-the-error-1603-fatal-error-during-installation

First thing is I did not get this error, but I did read that the uninstall of old drivers is sometimes not so good, so after I ran the Windows Uninstall I also manually went through the drives and deleted any 3DConnexion folders still there before installing the latest drivers.

Please use the following software at your own risk, I use them and find them very useful but I'm not saying you have to.
This is excellent software as an alternative to the Windows Uninstaller, it manages to get rid of leftovers;
http://www.revouninstaller.com/ (30day trial)
I also use the free version of this to clean out the Registry; https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download
« Last Edit: March 04, 2015, 08:21:58 am by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4565
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2015, 10:53:37 am »
Just for Lloyd  :D attached video of 3D object in CamBam using 3D mouse.
Sorry for poor quality it's not something I do a lot of, and please don't mention using YouTube etc.

Edit: after using the mouse on a wobbly cardboard box while making the video it made me realise I need to include a deadband so will be posting an update of the dll. Or maybe a steep decline in sensitivty would be smoother.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2015, 12:19:41 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3026
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2015, 13:48:35 pm »
Eddy, that's pretty impressive 'frappus' you have there. ;D. I like it.
My 2ยข

Win 10 64 bit, CB [1.0} rc 1 64 bit, Mach3, ESS, G540

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8360
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2015, 14:03:03 pm »
Hey!  I can see the advantages to that!

That's pretty neat, Eddy.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline tau

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2015, 18:21:42 pm »
Well Eddy,

i gave it another try today and did all you've mentioned and even more.... but NO success,  :(

Used almost any reg cleaner that makes sense and even removed manually all occurences of 3DConnexion from the registry.

Well i guess my wisdom is at an end this time...

P.S. Only the old driver v3.18 is working for me so far, but his doesn't seem to work for CamBam

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4565
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2015, 19:18:48 pm »
Tau,
 
I read about somebody installing the files manually so this is what I did;

Using this software that I use all the time; http://www.7-zip.org/
and with this file; 3DxWare64_v10-2-2_r1886.exe that I downloaded here; http://www.3dconnexion.co.uk/service/drivers.html
I unzipped the file, it created a folder with a new file called; 3DxWare64.exe
I unzipped that also in the same folder and it extracted a heap of files. (see attached picture)

From those files I think you can see which ones to try so that the drivers might install.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2015, 19:23:49 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline tau

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #21 on: March 04, 2015, 19:55:24 pm »
Strange not even your suggestion works??

Even deselecting all additonal drivers for the given CAD packages  and just trying the base driver is unsuccessfull! Damn it. :-\

And the forum has no solution for that?! I think i need to find the log file for the install. Hope to find a solution there.. ::)

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8360
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #22 on: March 04, 2015, 20:16:36 pm »
And the forum has no solution for that?
-----------
THEIR forum, or this forum?

This is a new tool and plugin for us, so there wouldn't be a lot of experience built-up here, yet.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4565
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #23 on: March 04, 2015, 20:18:44 pm »
I'm sure he means the 3DConnexion forum, just time then for a Guinness West Indies Porter in case not.
Made in England

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8360
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #24 on: March 04, 2015, 20:20:32 pm »
I hate you Eddie!  I can't buy that here closer than 200 miles from home!

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4565
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #25 on: March 04, 2015, 20:28:04 pm »
Do you have a Costco nearby ? I got 3 cases of it from there last week
Made in England

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8360
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #26 on: March 04, 2015, 20:34:06 pm »
Nope... Sam's Clubs all over!  Actually, there is a Costco about 60 miles away, and I have occasion to go that way sometimes.  I'll look there.

LLoyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline tau

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #27 on: March 04, 2015, 20:56:17 pm »
Even the latest driver that just popped up seconds ago on 3DConnexion's web site didn't change a thing...

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4565
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #28 on: March 04, 2015, 21:10:33 pm »
I've just installed the latest drivers without problem. Have you tried right clicking the installer and selecting  'Run as Administrator' ?

Edit: WRONG ! now I'm getting the original error !  >:(
« Last Edit: March 04, 2015, 21:14:17 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline tau

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #29 on: March 04, 2015, 21:18:33 pm »
Eddy,

tried that as well, of course! No change and still no luck.

So my last hope is to find the way to get hold of the log file during the install and see where the road block is...

Strange thing still is, that i manage to install the v10 driver when the machine was set up fresh. But that was the one and only occasion where i was successful.