Author Topic: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin  (Read 82064 times)

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4381
    • View Profile
3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« on: March 02, 2015, 20:55:10 pm »
My son bought me a 3DConnexion SpaceMouse wireless for Christmas, I thought it would be ideal to use with CamBam.
It's taken me a while messing about with this but please give it a try, at the moment I'm looking for feedback because I only have my system to test it on, thanks. No buttons are actioned in this plugin, if you want to change buttons or speed please use the 3DConnexion driver, on my mouse it's activated by pressing the left button on the 3D mouse.

As usual just unzip the file into CamBam plugins folder.

Edit: I removed version 1 here, see later in thread for latest.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 21:37:28 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1322
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2015, 21:48:31 pm »
HI Eddy
Had to look it up (SpaceMouse) went to website and read the history, Very nice
Dave

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4381
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2015, 22:04:18 pm »
Thanks Dave, it works pretty good at my end, just like using Alt + mouse.
Speed is the main issue, I tried to match it with how it works in Rhino3D
« Last Edit: March 02, 2015, 22:06:00 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline csirocnc

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Howell V4
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2015, 02:05:10 am »
Hi Eddy
I tried it with my SpacePilot pro but got this error message.

Error loading plugin C:\Program Files (x86)\CamBam plus 0.9.8\plugins\3DMouse.dll
Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.

Paul
1st CamBam Licence sale
in Australia

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4381
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2015, 09:42:01 am »
Paul,
Thanks for trying it out, it's a pity there was a problem, at the moment I don't have the answer.
I'm using Windows 7 64 bit and the 3DMouse.dll uses 3dConnexion's TDx.TDxInput.dll that is located wherever you installed their drivers.  I'm also using this version of their driver, 3DxWare 10 for Windows (64-bit).
I have a 32bit laptop running XP so I will get it working on that first.
I'm using, Version 0.9.8P (beta-2) of CamBam so I'll try version N too.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 09:58:41 am by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4381
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2015, 10:42:57 am »
Okay these were the starting conditions;

1. CamBam Version 0.9.8N
2. 32 bit OS
3. Windows XP
4. 3DxWare 10 for Windows (32-bit) drivers NOT INSTALLED

Please note that the 3DxWare 10 for Windows (32) drivers are the latest ones available on their website and these are the ones they want you to use.

Testing;

1. Upon starting CamBam I got the same error as Paul.

Error loading plugin C:\Program Files\CamBam plus 0.9.8\plugins\3DMouse.dll
Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.

2. Now installed 3DxWare 10 for Windows drivers

AND IT WORKS   ;D

So it looks like the latest drivers are required for the mouse. I'll look to see if there is a solution for older drivers because the TDx.TDxInput.dll has been around for several years so I would expect it to be installed on a PC that uses a 3DConnexion mouse. I believe the mouse drivers use Windows Registry to find this dll.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 10:45:13 am by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4381
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2015, 21:01:23 pm »
Updated, now has a far better algorithm for distance such that pan speed is reduced when zoomed in, also smoother.

@Paul, did you manage to get it working yet by updating the 3dConnexion drivers ?

Edit: older version removed, see later in thread for latest.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2015, 12:40:25 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline csirocnc

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Howell V4
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2015, 21:06:16 pm »
I uninstalled the drivers I was using and installed 3DxWare 10 for Windows (64bit)
and now it works  ;D

Nice Work

CamBam plus [0.9] Rel 8N
Copyright © 2013 HexRay Ltd

CamBam.CAD : 0.9.4878.23990
CamBam : 0.9.4878.23992
Build Date : 10/05/2013 1:19:40 PM
Framework Version : 2.0.50727.5485
1st CamBam Licence sale
in Australia

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4381
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2015, 21:07:17 pm »
Paul, that is great news, make sure you use the latest dll I just uploaded.
Made in England

Online lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8285
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2015, 21:17:28 pm »
I hate to sound ignorant (even when I AM), but... what advantages do you get by using the 3D mouse in CamBam.  Can you do a video showing us how it works?

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline csirocnc

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Howell V4
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2015, 21:17:43 pm »
Just installed it & all works
Will look forward to testing the button actions out ;)
1st CamBam Licence sale
in Australia

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4381
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #11 on: March 03, 2015, 21:22:17 pm »
I hate to sound ignorant (even when I AM), but... what advantages do you get by using the 3D mouse in CamBam.  Can you do a video showing us how it works?

Lloyd

You are half right. You would not buy a 3D mouse for use solely on CamBam but if you already have one for use on CAD then it might as well work on CamBam too. I thought about a video but what's the best host without signing up ?
Made in England

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4381
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2015, 21:24:11 pm »
Just installed it & all works
Will look forward to testing the button actions out ;)

Paul, as I mentioned I'm not incorporating the buttons so I assume you mean prgramming them with the 3DConexion driver, pressing the left button brings up the dialogue for me.
Made in England

Online lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8285
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2015, 21:24:31 pm »
I don't know... David would probably be the best one to ask; he does a LOT of them (and good ones, too!).

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline tau

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: 3DConnexion SpaceMouse plugin
« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2015, 07:41:42 am »
@Eddy & All,

i'm really pleased to see that there is a possibility to use the 3D SpaceMouse as an input device in CamBam.

The latest driver is also a quite customizable by the user, so you can adapt it to many other programs that do not necessarily support 3D input devices. I used to play aorund with it when i had it installed.   

The very unfortunate thing for me is that i cannot get the latest driver to install on my Win7/x64 machine any more (yes, i was able once which was about a year ago). :(

It always interrupts the install with an Error 1603 which is upposed to be an Windows Installer Error, but i wasn't able to get this fixed. Even in the Support forum of 3DConnexion the same bug reports appears several times, but with no sufficient solution!?

So if anyone of you guys have an idea on how to get this fixed, i'd appreciate any comments!  ::)