Author Topic: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved  (Read 11230 times)

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4854
    • View Profile
Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« on: July 02, 2015, 15:14:30 pm »
I fitted 15mm Hiwin rails and bearings to my Z and Y axes but have never been able to grease them easily and with confidence that any grease actually went in, until now.
The small nipples supplied were an abomination and getting a suitable grease gun adapter proved nigh on impossible.

I got some 4mm tube, push fittings that I turned down to fit in the gap, and there was just enough 'meat' on the push fittings to reduce the 5mm thread as supplied down to a 4mm thread that fits the Hiwin bearings.

Fitted some brackets with 6mm thread push fittings, 6mm thread nipples, and 6mm hex connectors.
It now works very well.

I also fitted a home made extended brass grease pipe for the Z ball nut grease nipple.

Pic1 shows it with Z front plate removed, pic2 shows it reassembled.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2015, 15:17:37 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline Bob La Londe

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4156
  • ^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.
    • View Profile
    • CNC Molds N Stuff
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2015, 00:58:05 am »
Very elegant.
Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8542
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2015, 01:03:12 am »
Yessir!  I agree with Bob.  Simple (and straightforward) works almost every time!

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2015, 02:50:22 am »
Nice Eddy, that looks like a fairly rigid z axis setup compared to some I've seen.
Dave

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4854
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2015, 07:39:19 am »
Thank you for your comments gentlemen  :D
Dave, it's 20mm aluminium throughout plus the best parts I could muster at the time, my build log is here if interested ( all 34 pages  ;D ); http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/6565-Ready-Steady-Eddy?p=56912#post56912
We also did some stiffness tests here; http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/7155-stiffness-measurements-cnc-mk3?p=56572#post56572

At no time was any aluminium extrusion harmed in the making of this machine.  ;)
« Last Edit: July 03, 2015, 08:10:00 am by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3187
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2015, 10:21:36 am »
Just finished looking at your build blog and must say I come impressed with your build.There was no expense spared. I can only wish my diy router was 10% solid as yours . Nicely done Eddy!
My 2ยข

Win10 (64 bit, CB(1.0)rc 1(64 bit) Mach3, ESS, G540, Endurance Laser.

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4854
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2015, 10:43:03 am »
Thanks, Bubba, much appreciated.
Made in England

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2015, 11:02:54 am »
HI Eddy great thread on cncuk  I've bookmarked for further reference, Is that a unregulated power supply
if so how much current can it supply, I need more than the 15 amps I've got now as I want to add another 360 watt servo.
Dave

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4854
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2015, 11:22:32 am »
Dave, glad you like the thread.

PSU is just a self build linear unregulated type 15Amps, those are the best sort of supplies to use in this application I believe.
This transformer; http://www.airlinktransformers.com/chassis_mounting_toroidal_transformers/chassis_mounting_toroidal_transformers_standard_range/CM0625220/
A 35Amp bridge rectifier
This capacitor; http://www.rapidonline.com/Electronic-Components/22000-F-10-30-100V-Screw-terminal-Mounting-Bolt-Aluminium-Electrolytic-Capacit-50-4017

If I wanted to add onto this I would most likely build another PSU and connect the 0V together.

« Last Edit: July 03, 2015, 12:40:49 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1536
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #9 on: July 03, 2015, 13:13:41 pm »
HI Eddy
Thanks for the info, Yes I've been told by many people unregulated supplies are a better option than switching supplies.
I've been using two switching supplies 24 volt and a 48 tried together for 72 volts with a Protoplant board specially made for this purpose, and It's worked well but is rated at 15 amps so I'll go and look at the toroid now, Went to Jaycar (local consumer electronics store) for one  and nearly had a heart attack at the price.
Dave.

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8542
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #10 on: July 03, 2015, 13:39:12 pm »
Yep... some "Honkin' Big" electrolytics fed by a big bridge off a low seconary-resistance xfrmr will respond quicker to a sudden current demand than any switcher could.

Most drives don't require a regulated supply, anyway.  They're current devices, so it's sudden current demand you must meet, not absolute voltage; just as long as it's 'enough'.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4854
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2015, 13:42:20 pm »
Same applies to a power amplifier, the weight of the thing is usually proportional to the quality, with particular regard to transient and bass response.

Also with the capacitor being a reservoir, or for the mechanically minded, an accumulator, it can absorb back emf from the stepper motors and drivers, provided of course it does not go over voltage. It's a similar thing to the DC link of a VFD.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2015, 14:18:19 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline Bob La Londe

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4156
  • ^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.
    • View Profile
    • CNC Molds N Stuff
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #12 on: July 04, 2015, 15:07:33 pm »
So, what kind of grease are you using, and how often are you greasing the bearings (in terms of use). 
Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4854
    • View Profile
Re: Hiwin 15's grease problem solved
« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2015, 17:09:55 pm »
Bob,
This is the grease, after quite a bit of research, EP2 Lithium. http://www.toolstation.com/shop/p89691

There was also this thread about it; http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/4862-Profiled-rails-Installation-guidelines-and-manufacturer-comparison-chart?p=55256#post55256

Frequency of greasing is a good question. Mach3 has some kind of tool built in regarding maintenance, I think once every few months would be fine for my use.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2015, 17:13:29 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England