Author Topic: Texture Builder Plugin  (Read 4900 times)

Offline GeoffreyGRoy

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Texture Builder Plugin
« on: November 21, 2015, 09:29:28 am »
I am releasing the first version of my new plugin for CamBam – Texture Builder.  Creating textured surfaces on your CNC machine can offer the potential for interesting effects. 
While some of the capabilities of this new plugin already exist in CamBam (by importing and manipulating 3-D surface models) the plugin offers some additional capabilities to develop regions of texture from basic elements (we can call these tiles) by placing them parametrically over a surface using a range of basic operators (translate, scale, copy, rotate as well as repeating in linear and polar patterns). These processes are defined in a script that can be saved, edited and reused as required.
The plugin accepts tile definitions in the form of STL, RAW, XYZ files, and various image formats (interpreted as height maps), and can produce models in XYZ, RAW or STL model formats (the latter two can then be imported into CamBam).
I am also attaching a short document showing some examples, including how the basic tiles might be prepared using third party tools.
I would appreciate any feedback, comments or indications of bugs that you may find.  The multilingual support has only been partially implemented at this stage.  If there is sufficient interest I can try to set up the scripting language to be translatable.

Geoff :)

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4418
    • View Profile
Re: Texture Builder Plugin
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2015, 09:51:03 am »
It would be ideal if you could attach some sample files.
Made in England

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4418
    • View Profile
Re: Texture Builder Plugin
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2015, 11:56:08 am »
Okay I've got some test files made myself. you need to set CamBam for mm I think

1. unzip the attached to find;

test3.txt
test3.png

2. open CamBam then Plugins->Texture Builder

3. on the plugin form, click "Load" and navigate to the test3.txt file, select->open

4. on the plugin form, click the "Run" button,
This is what I got in the text box

Reading from IMAGE file: F:\\test3.png
Adding tiles...[12]
Total number of facets: 60000

5. "Close" the plugin

6. in CamBam open the created file test3.stl

My result was the attached picture.
and from CutViewer Mill (3mm ballnose)
« Last Edit: November 21, 2015, 12:32:26 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1332
    • View Profile
Re: Texture Builder Plugin
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2015, 12:57:24 pm »
That worked for me too. I've had a quick look at the manual and it looks interesting.
Dave

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6078
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Texture Builder Plugin
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2015, 16:39:52 pm »
Hello Geoff

That sound like a nice plugin ... but what is GeoGen ? .... I search on Google but I fall on a black page that say:

GEOGEN 4.0

name> @init
error: hardware accelerated graphics not supported
name>

++
David

Offline GeoffreyGRoy

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Texture Builder Plugin
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2015, 23:03:24 pm »
Dear David

GeoGen is available at http://geogen.cz/.

Geoff

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6078
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Texture Builder Plugin
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2015, 23:06:47 pm »
Thanks, I'll try it ;)

++
David

Offline BR52

  • Wookie
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
    • View Profile
Re: Texture Builder Plugin
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2015, 01:51:13 am »
hello children

The most comprehensive, GeoGen studio it's here.
https://code.google.com/p/geogen

The source code here:
https://github.com/Baenlin/geogen

   Armando

Offline GeoffreyGRoy

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Texture Builder Plugin
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2015, 08:45:01 am »
Dear Armando

While GeoGen Studio is a "complete" package with a nice UI, its programming capabilities are limited (dodgy!).  I would suggest you use the more recent GeoGen (GGS a9) as referred to above.  It is possible to use the Studio version to view results.

regards

Geoff