Author Topic: Windows 10 issues  (Read 13111 times)

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6383
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Windows 10 issues
« on: January 12, 2016, 12:52:46 pm »
Hello,

Have a look on this page if you have problem with CamBam on Windows 10

http://www.cambam.info/ref/ref.win10

++
David

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: Windows 10 issues
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2016, 08:36:37 am »
Hello
a user ask in the german forum about a error in Win10. He get this after update to win10.
He get a error message that is translated:

CamBam plus stops working
The program does not run correctly because of a problem. The program will be closed and you will be notified when a solution is available.

We tried a lot, delete and reinstall cambam, activating .NET3.5, run as administrator.
Nothing works, cambam don´t work.

has anyone an idea what could be done

ralf

Offline Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3108
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 10 issues
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2016, 11:36:53 am »
Hmm,this is strange,
I use Win 10 on laptop 32 Bit and a desktop 64 Bit computers, both have CamBam installed and working as it should.

Ralf,
I'm shooting in the dark here..
He need to do CB uninstall thru 'Program and Features' in Windows,then delete CB directory from 'Program files' and 'Program Data' directories, reinstall CB, it should work.
 
Does the user have updated hardware drivers on his computer? 

Good Luck.
My 2¢

Win10 (64 bit, CB(1.0)rc 1(64 bit) Mach3, ESS, G540, Endurance Laser.

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: Windows 10 issues
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2016, 18:38:42 pm »
Bubba thank you for this answer.
I think this is a .NET problem. If I search the web for this error I found the same for Win7. And there it was always a .NET problem. Since also the new alpha version runs smoothly confirms me with this view.
Deactivation of the .NET 3.5 an reactivation works with only one start of CamBam then the error comes back.

ralf

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6383
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Windows 10 issues
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2016, 19:03:38 pm »
Hello Ralf ;)

I assume you've tried other win compatibility modes ?

Any change in GDI mode ?

++
David

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: Windows 10 issues
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2016, 20:23:27 pm »
This is a windows error and not a cambam error.
All known solutions we went through, without success. I think there has been a problem during the update.
I have recommended to perform a clean installation.

ralf

Offline Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3108
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 10 issues
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2016, 20:45:35 pm »
I have recommended to perform a clean installation.
++++++++++++++++++++


+1 ;D
My 2¢

Win10 (64 bit, CB(1.0)rc 1(64 bit) Mach3, ESS, G540, Endurance Laser.

Offline airnocker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 554
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 10 issues
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2016, 05:30:10 am »
I couldn't find this solution on the forum so here goes.

I had CamBam 0.9.8P running fine under Windows 10 Pro 32-bit (upgraded from Win7 Pro 32-bit that upgraded XP Pro). All was good.  Then I decided to do a clean install of Windows 10 Pro 64-bit....drum roll please.  I dutifully backed up what I needed and proceeded using a Win10 32/64 bit ISO Bootable DVD that I had made prior to July 29, 2016.

Besides some irritants involving my old C: partition not satisfying the 64-bit installer at the point the desired partition is selected for installation, after deleting, recreating and formatting the old C: drive, the install was successful.  I did have to manually download and install the AMD (ATI Radeon 4670) display driver to get beyond 640x480 but once that was done all was good with the world.

When it came time to install CamBam 0.9.8P I ran into a problem.  Launching the .MSI installer, I immediately got a message stating CamBam needed .NET Framework 2.0 installed, did I want to do it now (y/n).  Yes, fails to find it to install via the net.  So a bit of web research brought me to the solution.  Windows 10 comes with the newer .NET and the older .NET 3.5 which includes 2.0 all that is required is to activate it.  Here's how:

a) Press “Windows Logo” + “R” keys on the keyboard.
b) Type “appwiz.cpl” in the “Run” command box and press “ENTER”.
c) In the “Programs and Features” window, click on the link “Turn Windows features on or off”.
d) Check if the “.NET Framework 3.5 (includes .NET 2.0 and 3.0)” option is available in it.
e) If yes, then enable it and then click on “OK”.
f) Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the installation and restart the computer, if prompted.

This will install the .NET Framework 3.5 feature on the computer and download anything it needs via Windows Update.

CamBam then installed as it normally has in the past.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2016, 01:56:09 am by airnocker »
airnocker

Everything depends on everything else