Author Topic: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.  (Read 7892 times)

Offline EAC

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
    • Eureka Airctraft
License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« on: December 12, 2015, 21:23:36 pm »
Cam Bam usually runs multiple times each day, for the last many years.
Today, out of no where, my long time licensed CamBam started asking for the license key every time I run it.  Running on Win10 since day Win 10 came out, and has been working great until this morning.  Running as admin fixes it, but never had to do that before, and the dialog that comes up is a PITA.   

Anyone else having this issue?

Don

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8502
    • View Profile
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2015, 21:32:27 pm »
'Had any Win-10 updates recently?

I'll bet that's the cause.  You may have to modify the properties of CB to "run as adminstrator" every time you click it.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline topduck

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2015, 21:17:23 pm »
I have windows 10, everything worked fine for over 3 months, this only started to happen this week.
I changed the permissions to full control and as administrator, still the same problem.

Offline Jeff_Birt

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
    • View Profile
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2015, 21:59:07 pm »
My guess is that CamBam is not able to write to the program installation folder so that it 'remembers' your key. I would suggest copying your license file to the CamBam installation folder.

Offline topduck

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2015, 22:05:46 pm »
Can you please name the files and locations
I can't see any license file.
The installation folder ... do you mean the cambam folder in the programs file ..
Thanks

Offline Jeff_Birt

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
    • View Profile
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2015, 02:57:44 am »
When you purchased your CamBam license you were sent an email with the license file and license key. The name of the license file is "CamBamPro.lic" you place a copy of it in the CamBam folder in ProgramFiles (or PRogramFiles (x86) depending on your PC).

Offline topduck

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2015, 03:29:41 am »
The CamBamPro.lic is there in the cambam folder with the correct lic number
Still asks me for the key every time I open cambam.




Offline topduck

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2015, 00:11:39 am »
For some reason it started working again without asking for the key.
hhhmmmm strange .. It must be windows

Offline dwc

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
    • corson.ch
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2015, 12:11:45 pm »
For some reason it started working again without asking for the key.
hhhmmmm strange .. It must be windows
And people wonder why I refuse to install Win10.
With the present MS policies there will never be a stable version that can be used for serious work.
Don

Offline gerritv

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
    • Gerrit's Hobbies
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2015, 16:59:32 pm »
Since you received the file from internet, it might be tagged as protected. Right click the file and check properties. It will tell you if file is blocked.

Offline Jeff_Birt

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
    • View Profile
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2015, 22:30:35 pm »
dwc - I have had zero problems related to Windows 10, the biggest 'issue' was needing to manually update one USB driver. The same license problem has been described by folks running different (Windows) operating systems so it does not seem to be Windows specific. It might also have to do with the CamBam setting directory or a registry key, neither of which is a unique Windows 10 issue.

Offline dwc

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
    • corson.ch
Re: License Key needs re-enterded each time CB runs.
« Reply #11 on: December 25, 2015, 11:02:06 am »
Hi Jeff,
I am happy for you that you have no problems with W10.
I use other programs and in other forums am seeing that problems coming and going seems to be happening only to W10 users.
I don't claim that it gives most people problems, but when the system is used for money making, every problem is vital.
And from what I am seeing on the different forums W10 is connected with most of the problems in the last couple of months.
I hope it continues to work great for you.
Don