Author Topic: how to split high 3D file in cambam?  (Read 2392 times)

Offline cb-est

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« on: September 10, 2018, 20:03:15 pm »
Hello,
can anyone show/tell me is possible to split  60mm high detail to 3 pieces ( to 20mm thick layers)  in cambam?
thank you!

Online Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2915
    • View Profile
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2018, 20:32:23 pm »
There is not a way to tell without seeing exactly what you are talking about. Attach CB file, and somebody will help you with this. 
My 2¢

Win 10 64 bit, CB [1.0} rc 1 64 bit, Mach3, ESS, G540

Offline Bob La Londe

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3913
  • ^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.
    • View Profile
    • CNC Molds N Stuff
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2018, 20:33:35 pm »
Are you having to make a 3D part in 3 sections do to material limitations? 
Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com

Online dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 5940
    • View Profile
    • Cambam French Doc
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2018, 21:48:31 pm »
Hello,

Are you having to make a 3D part in 3 sections do to material limitations?  

If it's for a 3D object as think Bob, and if you read some French (or use translator), have a look here. (pictures are done with the English version)

This method do not need to physically slice the 3D shape itself ; it is just moved up/down and we machine only the vertical section that we want.
https://www.usinages.com/threads/fao-3d-usinage-par-strates.31432/

If someone think it can be of any use, I can translate the text and add a topic here in the tutorial section ?

++
David

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4323
    • View Profile
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2018, 21:53:12 pm »
There's also this free software maybe; http://www.meshmixer.com/

Free but you have to sign into Autodesk, therefore not for me.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2018, 21:56:34 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline cb-est

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2018, 07:12:33 am »
Hello,

Are you having to make a 3D part in 3 sections do to material limitations?  

If it's for a 3D object as think Bob, and if you read some French (or use translator), have a look here. (pictures are done with the English version)

This method do not need to physically slice the 3D shape itself ; it is just moved up/down and we machine only the vertical section that we want.
https://www.usinages.com/threads/fao-3d-usinage-par-strates.31432/

If someone think it can be of any use, I can translate the text and add a topic here in the tutorial section ?

++
David

************


Hey David , i mean exactly that what you show here , thank you.
And if  you have time and  could  translate this ,  thats be very useful   .. i think :)

Offline onekk

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 509
    • View Profile
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2018, 14:17:58 pm »
Very good tutorial, an english translation would be a great improvement.

Could you kindly give me the permission to reuse your images for an "advanced cambam guide" I'm working on (it's a medium term work an it is intended to be an Italian text only)?

Regards
Carlo D.

Carlo D. (onekk)

eShapeoko #343 750x1000 mm + GRBL + bCNC + CamBam

Online dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 5940
    • View Profile
    • Cambam French Doc
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2018, 14:31:31 pm »
Hello

Quote
And if  you have time and  could  translate this ,  thats be very useful   .. i think

Ok, I'll translate the 2 methods shown on the French forum when time permit ...

Quote
Could you kindly give me the permission to reuse your images for an "advanced cambam guide" I'm working on (it's a medium term work an it is intended to be an Italian text only)?

Yes, no problem  ;)

++
David

Offline kiwibrick

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Slavich Design
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2018, 23:41:19 pm »
Thats very interesting and helpful for me since I will be doing some 3D machining soon that will need to be 'sliced'
I will have to bookmark that french page!

Online dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 5940
    • View Profile
    • Cambam French Doc
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2018, 01:47:43 am »

Offline onekk

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 509
    • View Profile
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2018, 10:10:26 am »
Many thanks
Carlo D.
Carlo D. (onekk)

eShapeoko #343 750x1000 mm + GRBL + bCNC + CamBam

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4323
    • View Profile
Re: how to split high 3D file in cambam?
« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2018, 17:07:59 pm »
Many thanks
Carlo D.

+1

Excellent tutorial.
Made in England

Online Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2915
    • View Profile
My 2¢

Win 10 64 bit, CB [1.0} rc 1 64 bit, Mach3, ESS, G540