Author Topic: [V1 - 23] Profile Cut Width Starting at line instead of at max width (solved)  (Read 2064 times)

Offline Bob La Londe

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3943
  • ^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.
    • View Profile
    • CNC Molds N Stuff
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NT--Qe4u_TI

I am at a total loss.  It seems to be the same for every single profile operation that has a cut width.

Could it be a .NET issue with the latest W10 update?  
« Last Edit: November 01, 2019, 22:09:09 pm by dh42 »
Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com

Offline Bob La Londe

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3943
  • ^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.
    • View Profile
    • CNC Molds N Stuff
Re: Profile Cut Width Starting at line instead of at max width
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2019, 22:26:24 pm »
Wow!  I think this may qualify as a bug.  (unless its an undocumented feature)  I had modified my default style, and somehow it I got the max crossover distance set to zero.  It affected all profile operations that had not specifically had the max crossover distance changed to a specific value non default value.  If the max crossover distance was set to zero it started at the line.  If it was set to a positive value it started at the max distance of the set cut width.  



« Last Edit: January 10, 2019, 22:42:53 pm by Bob La Londe »
Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6013
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Profile Cut Width Starting at line instead of at max width
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2019, 02:04:49 am »
Hello Bob

I get the same behavior, but only on open polylines ; on closed, even with max crossover set to 0, the cut are done in the right order. (same on 0.98 and 1.0)

I'll move this post in the Bug section

++
David

« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 02:06:39 am by dh42 »

Offline Dragonfly

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2314
    • View Profile
Re: [V1 - 23] Profile Cut Width Starting at line instead of at max width
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2019, 09:21:45 am »
I am using this approach with open polylines extensively to mill a wide area sideways starting from outside edge of the stock. Never noticed such behavior. On Win XP and Linux. Only it will eventually require to reverse the poly to make the profile act at the correct side.
Never used zero max crossover distance though. Once I experimented with it and crashed the tool. It seems that a value of zero affects the logic behind the toolpath generation. Not sure it is a bug or a feature.

P.S. Zero crossover should not be used IMHO.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 09:25:53 am by Dragonfly »

Offline Bob La Londe

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3943
  • ^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.
    • View Profile
    • CNC Molds N Stuff
Re: [V1 - 23] Profile Cut Width Starting at line instead of at max width
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2019, 17:03:39 pm »
I am using this approach with open polylines extensively to mill a wide area sideways starting from outside edge of the stock. Never noticed such behavior. On Win XP and Linux. Only it will eventually require to reverse the poly to make the profile act at the correct side.
Never used zero max crossover distance though. Once I experimented with it and crashed the tool. It seems that a value of zero affects the logic behind the toolpath generation. Not sure it is a bug or a feature.

P.S. Zero crossover should not be used IMHO.

There are times when I used Zero Crossover to specifically not leave cross over tool marks. 
Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6013
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: [V1 - 23] Profile Cut Width Starting at line instead of at max width
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2019, 00:01:44 am »
Hello

Quote
P.S. Zero crossover should not be used IMHO.

I always set it to 0 for engraving to avoid "bridges" between shape that are very close each from other (like text).

++
David

Offline kvom

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1572
    • View Profile
Re: [V1 - 23] Profile Cut Width Starting at line instead of at max width
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2019, 11:41:35 am »
Did you modify optimization mode?  I've seen this before and solved it by trying different modes.