Author Topic: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin  (Read 5859 times)

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4387
    • View Profile
As requested here; http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=7496.msg60260#msg60260
and here; http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=7671.msg61488#msg61488

Please find attached a plugin to display the selected object or objects extrema in the Status Bar.

Works with CamBam 0.9.8 and 1.0

When the left mouse button is released, it checks to see if any objects have been selected then displays the extrema.
It works ONLY in the main drawing window, if an object is selected in the left hand Tree View it will not work.

Edit:
Version2 attached.

1. Added a form to select various parameters to display
2. The form is found in menu item, Plugins->ShowExtrema Options
3. Added an option to select number of decimal places for numbers
4. All settings on the form are saved to Windows Registry
« Last Edit: February 04, 2019, 08:29:32 am by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline Dragonfly

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2319
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2019, 11:43:25 am »
Your last two plugins add very significant convenience to the work process!
I am one who wanted the constant display of extremas.
IMHO rounding the values to a reasonable number of digits after the decimal point will be good. And I think it will not be difficult.
Many thanks!

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4387
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2019, 14:17:06 pm »
IMHO rounding the values to a reasonable number of digits after the decimal point will be good. And I think it will not be difficult.
Many thanks!

Version2 attached to first post, it should cover all requested requirements.  ;)
« Last Edit: February 03, 2019, 14:21:38 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline Dragonfly

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2319
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2019, 16:45:21 pm »
We definitely need a "thumb up" and a "standing ovation" smilies  for the forum.
:)

Offline Dragonfly

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2319
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2019, 09:59:48 am »
Tested today on my Linux version. Works. :)

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4387
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2019, 10:02:47 am »
Excellent, thanks for testing and feedback.
Made in England

Offline Garyhlucas

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1366
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2019, 13:32:38 pm »
I have never used extremas. What do you need them for?
Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/

Offline Mark81

  • Wookie
  • ****
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2019, 14:12:44 pm »
I have never used extremas. What do you need them for?

To know the dimensions and the positions of the selected item(s).

Offline Dragonfly

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2319
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2019, 14:18:15 pm »
After I installed this plugin I never used the original 'show extremas'. So much that I had forgotten about it :)  In the Linux version I wanted to see the size of a 3D object and, because I didn't remember the 'show extremas' function, decided to try the plugin and it worked.
I use it to determine the minimum stock size, to place and align objects or groups of objects  at exact coordinates relative to the centroid or the corners of the other, to check the correctness of sizes, etc.
The data is always in front of my eyes and it is very convenient. Just click-select or drag-select object(s).

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8293
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2019, 17:36:49 pm »
This isn't a criticism of the plugin, which I can see would be VERY valuable in certain design 'regimens'.  But after trying it, I removed it (still have the plugin, in 'case').  I very seldom need to see an object's extremas, and it would be for me a distraction to have them displayed every time I select an object.  I just use the menu version, when I need it.

But, then, I do almost entirely 2.5D tasks.

So... different tastes for different tasks!

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1749
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2019, 09:48:24 am »
This is a very helpfull plugin for me.

A translation works only in the Plugin Window, but not in the status bar. Please, if you go over there again, you could correct that.

ralf

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4387
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2019, 17:56:07 pm »
Ralf,

try this version.
Made in England

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1749
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2019, 10:54:57 am »
Thank you, now I can translate it.
It looks as if the width of the display in the status bar is limited and not everything is displayed.

Ralf

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6016
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2019, 20:22:22 pm »
Hello

Thanks eddy ..

Same problem as Ralf about display length ..

++
David

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4387
    • View Profile
Re: Display Object(s) Extrema in the Status Bar, "ShowExtrema" Plugin
« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2019, 22:00:42 pm »
I'm not seeing that problem, can you change to "English" and try it ?
I changed my CamBam to Deutsch, the plugin text is not translated but everything is working okay.
Made in England