Author Topic: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none  (Read 2605 times)

Offline ThisAmplifierIsLoud

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Jam it !
    • View Profile
Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« on: May 03, 2019, 06:43:49 am »
CamBam plus [1.0] Rel 14
Copyright © 2017 HexRay Ltd

CamBam.CAD : 1.0.6529.18366
CamBam : 1.0.6529.18371
Build Date : 16.11.2017 10:12:12
Framework Version : 4.0.30319.42000


Way : Create a simple cutting outside MOP with more than 1 object.
Set :
Optimisation = none
Cut ordering = depth first

Result : Gcode is created with cut ordering level first.

best regards

Bernhard

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1756
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2019, 09:19:12 am »
Cut Order ist part of the optimisation mode.

CB Version F changes: Depth first cut order toolpath optimisation improvements. This applies to the Experimental optimisation mode which should be the default.

ralf

Offline Mark81

  • Wookie
  • ****
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2019, 10:51:08 am »
Cut Order ist part of the optimisation mode.

That means if there's no optimization the cut order option is ignored, right?
So it should be disabled in the UI too when optimization == none to avoid confusion, IMHO.

Offline ThisAmplifierIsLoud

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Jam it !
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2019, 12:50:09 pm »
Japp, Mark,

either it´s a bug as I described, or it´s a bug that I can change something
what´s ignored. Similar to an unconnected button "Booster" in an old VW Beetle. ;D

« Last Edit: May 03, 2019, 12:51:49 pm by gmoo »
best regards

Bernhard

Offline Dragonfly

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2343
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2019, 18:03:44 pm »
Most of those are old bugs and limitations known to the majority of the longer time users. It's a pity they haven't been addressed and corrected. And it seems that active development of CamBam has been put on hold.

Offline michel

  • Wookie
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • View Profile
    • het-trappenatelier
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2019, 18:11:28 pm »
Hi,

Is this correct ? Is cambam development stopped ?


regards
Michel

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6073
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2019, 22:47:42 pm »
Hello

Quote
Is this correct ? Is cambam development stopped ?

Not at all, it's just that Andy is busy ;)

++
David


Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8316
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2019, 23:20:17 pm »
FWIW, Andy expressed some time ago that he was almost overwhelmed by the duties of his new job.

He also made it clear that he was not abandoning CB.  I presume, should he ever choose to do that, that he would tell us all, rather than just "making excuses". 

Andy has done honorable work for us.  Don't lose faith in him, unless HE tells you to do so.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8316
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2019, 00:44:52 am »
BTW... I might add that by keeping this website open and operable, he IS supporting the product!

A lot of what CB is capable of comes from the users as well as Andy's work.  Without this website, users wouldn't be able to share what they know.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline Garyhlucas

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1368
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2019, 22:39:25 pm »
Yes I don't at all feel un-supported as long as this website stays up and everyone is so helpful here.  I don't have the programming skills or time to play that some do.  I greatly appreciate the sharing of user written tools.  I deal with professional software where feedback appears to be totally ignored and we get what the wizards there deem important the heck with what we need.
Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/

Offline Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2961
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2019, 01:09:22 am »
Yes I don't at all feel un-supported as long as this website stays up and everyone is so helpful here.  I don't have the programming skills or time to play that some do.  I greatly appreciate the sharing of user written tools.
************************

+1 ;D








My 2¢

Win 10 64 bit, CB [1.0} rc 1 64 bit, Mach3, ESS, G540

Offline ThisAmplifierIsLoud

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Jam it !
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2019, 05:54:26 am »
Getting help on this is site fine, yes,
but concerning fixing bugs I feel unsupported, indeed.
2 or 3 releases per year would be great and would show an "ongoing process"
or call it "still alive signal".

Fomerly I used EstlCAM, there you get tons of updates, sometimes daily,
but I didn´t like that. So often the bugs were fixed to 90% only or
fixing bugs raised new bugs, new features are released untested.
Major releases changed data file´s structure, so files created with elder versions
became unreadable.
From that point of view I really like CB´s stable bahaviour. :)
best regards

Bernhard

Offline Garyhlucas

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1368
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2019, 18:04:04 pm »
The bugs you know are safer than the ones you don’t!
Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6073
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2019, 21:15:02 pm »
The bugs you know are safer than the ones you don’t!

 ;D ;D

Offline ThisAmplifierIsLoud

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Jam it !
    • View Profile
Re: Cut ordering wrong if Optimisation = none
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2019, 06:32:43 am »
The bugs you know are safer than the ones you don’t!

 :D :D :D

And in addition : "There is no perfect software."
best regards

Bernhard