Author Topic: Printing CB images clearly for documentation  (Read 6739 times)

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8297
    • View Profile
Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« on: July 06, 2019, 18:19:05 pm »
A LONG time ago, I added the 'print' plugin.  But it does a crappy job in terms of resolution.

If I need a higher-resolution image captured from the CB drawing screen, I use the utility "MWSNAP".  It's a fairly versatile image-capture method that will print to whatever the system default printer was when MWSNAP was started.  You cannot change printers during a run of the utility, because it 'reads' what the printer is upon starting-up, and not again during the run.  You must close MWSNAP, change the printer, then re-start the utility.

You-all may have other methods you use, and I'd be interested in hearing about them, too.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6022
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2019, 18:39:23 pm »
Hello

For screen shot, I use Screen Hunter ; not perfect, I always get "defects" on the mouse pointer, so I must hide it in the software settings.

For printing, if it is only the drawing area that is needed and if there is no mesh object, I use the print function of CB V1 : it can also be used to print on a PDF.

http://www.cambam.info/doc/dw/1.0.0/file-menu.html#print-

++
David

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8297
    • View Profile
Re: Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2019, 18:43:28 pm »
David,
Because of a very few 'compatibility issues' with very old files, I still use 0.98 on old files, mostly.  But I have 1.0.

I'll have to try the print feature there.  I don't remember how it performed, the last time I used it.

For today's documentation job, there was nothing that would have prevented me from using 1.0.  I just use 0.98 out of habit.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8297
    • View Profile
Re: Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2019, 20:00:00 pm »
Yes, David.  1.0's print command produces as good an image as my capture feature.

I'll use that in future, when I can.

Thanks,
Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6022
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2019, 20:02:58 pm »
Quote
I'll have to try the print feature there.  I don't remember how it performed, the last time I used it.

Gives good results on a printer, but you get only the drawing area as on any CAD software (and with hight resolution) but 3D objects are "flat". For documentation I only use screen capture so I can get the tree and others toolbars ..

++
David

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1749
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2019, 22:30:39 pm »
i have a mac and cambam runs very fast with multiprocessor support in paralells desktop.
I don't need a virus scanner.
Such functions as screenshots, for which you need separate software again, go with my shortcut cmd+shift +3 or +4, depending on whether I want the complete interface or just a frame.
The resolution is that of my monitor, at 96dpi, a screenshot of the entire surface corresponds to 2560x1600px.
This corresponds to an image size for printing of 215 x 135mm at 300ppi.
This is perfectly sufficient for printed documentation. Here is an part of a screenshots, which has to be enlarged to 100%.

ralf
« Last Edit: July 06, 2019, 22:38:31 pm by pixelmaker »

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4390
    • View Profile
Re: Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2019, 11:48:39 am »

Screen shot captured using Alt + PrtSc (captures active window) then Ctrl + V into my graphics program (Paint Shop Pro). This free graphics program is also good, https://www.irfanview.com/
« Last Edit: July 07, 2019, 14:20:22 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8297
    • View Profile
Re: Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2019, 13:53:23 pm »
Guys,

I know this section of the board is called "CamBam Shop Feedback", but there are individual threads under the section for different topics.

There are (or certainly can be) other topics about just this sort of threading issue.  It seems a little - um - 'abrupt' to just step in and take over another thread about a completely different subject.

David, can this sidebar be moved to an appropriate place?

Lloyd
« Last Edit: July 07, 2019, 14:14:47 pm by lloydsp »
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline Mark81

  • Wookie
  • ****
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2019, 14:44:36 pm »
It seems a little - um - 'abrupt' to just step in and take over another thread about a completely different subject.

Sorry, I removed the messages.

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8297
    • View Profile
Re: Printing CB images clearly for documentation
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2019, 21:10:04 pm »
Mark, I apologize.

I didn't really intend that you delete those questions, only that perhaps David could move them to their own thread!

But I very much appreciate your consideration.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"