Author Topic: New bed router  (Read 1787 times)

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
    • View Profile
New bed router
« on: February 13, 2020, 01:33:48 am »
ALMOST set up.

It's positioned in the bay.  I've opened all the boxes, and checked 'stuff'.  This thing came with TWO height-setters, and even a completely-wireless hand pendant for controlling the machine.

I still have to assemble the chip-vac and pipe it in, hook up all the electronics and check them out, and run a surfacing pass on the waste board to make sure my leveling job is 'just right'.  But it's looking like a LOT of fun!  Heck -- if this new software is all it's touted to be, I might even convert the OLD machine to this new stuff.

Pic attached.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6141
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: New bed router
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2020, 02:18:38 am »
Hello

Nice machine !

On the gantry, it's the ball nut that rotate and the screw that is fixed ?

Do you drive it with Mach3 ?

++
David

Online Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2985
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2020, 03:00:44 am »
Nice machine !

+1  ;D
My 2ยข

Win 10 64 bit, CB [1.0} rc 1 64 bit, Mach3, ESS, G540

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2020, 12:04:07 pm »
Thanks! 

In all cases, the ball screws rotate, and the nuts are fixed.  The Mitsubishi brushless servos on this thing are so small they just-about disappear, and all of the Y-axis assembly (including the motors) is hidden under the table, anyway.

It could run under Mach-3, but comes equipped with Vectric V-Carve Pro, pre-installed and tested at the factory.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline Bob La Londe

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
  • ^ 8.5 pounds on my own hand poured bait.
    • View Profile
    • CNC Molds N Stuff
Re: New bed router
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2020, 14:42:59 pm »
I WANT ONE. 

Nice machine.  A larger format 4x8 or 5x10 is on my long wish list. 
Getting started on CNC?  In or passing through my area?
If I have the time I'll be glad to show you a little in my shop. 

Some Stuff I Make with CamBam
http://www.CNCMOLDS.com

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4468
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2020, 18:17:01 pm »
I too would like one but don't have anywhere near the space for it.

Lloyd, maybe you wil start to like the Vectic software  ;)
Made in England

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2020, 19:48:01 pm »
Eddy,
I'm hoping I will like it.  It'll be a fairly-steep learning curve, because it has so many features.

We'll see!

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2020, 18:19:14 pm »
I have to take something stupid I said back!  I said:
"In all cases, the ball screws rotate, and the nuts are fixed."

----------------------------

X and Z rotate the screws.  There are TWO servos on the Y axis; one at each X-end of the gantry.  The screws are fixed, and the servos are on the bottom ends of the gantry, where it curves underneath the table.

Darn, I hate it when I miss something that simple!

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline Garyhlucas

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1370
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2020, 01:28:09 am »
Yep rotating the nut instead the screw eliminates screw whip on very long screws. Only downside is that motor weight is moving and more moving cables.
Gary H. Lucas

Have you read my blog?
 http://a-little-business.blogspot.com/

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2020, 02:44:16 am »
Yeah.  It also eliminates the need for extra bearings that the heavy screws would need to properly support the weight.

Duh!

The motors on this rig are VERY small and light -- Mitsubishi brush-less servos.  I'll bet they don't weigh three pounds apiece.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6141
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: New bed router
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2020, 12:39:53 pm »
Yep rotating the nut instead the screw eliminates screw whip on very long screws. Only downside is that motor weight is moving and more moving cables.
Hello

and also, the inertia of the nut is smaller than the inertia of a long and big screw so fewer torque is needed to accelerate.

but I guess that rotary nuts are very more expensive that fixed nuts ... ?

++
David

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2020, 14:57:55 pm »
Well, I'm at the point of having to complete all the plumbing out to the vacuum shed, so today was the morning of "The Big Experiment".  We have a 20HP (15KW) FPZ blower (actually 2, one is a service spare, not in use)

I got the 'test rig' hooked up by 9am.  It's running now, and I'm going to let it run for a few hours.

I have only 'dry fit' all PVC connections, and didn't put tape around the joints.  The bed on the new machine is MDF, which leaks some from the bottom, and some on top from areas around the work sheet.  That, because the whole sheet is milled on top, not only the 4' x 8' 'work zone'.

Our vacuum force dropped from 9.5" Hg (241 mm Hg) on just the old table to 8.5" Hg (216 mm Hg) with both tables hooked up.  I believe that's acceptable.  

It's still over 600lb/sq.ft. hold-down force (2929 Kg/m^2), and will only get better when I install the pipes correctly and replace that MDF bed with PVC.  Besides, I always use edge-clamping on work, as well as the vacuum

HOORAY!!!

That'll save a LOT on power consumption, too.

Lloyd
« Last Edit: February 19, 2020, 15:04:30 pm by lloydsp »
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2020, 22:43:10 pm »
So, the company says you "must do Windows (*winblows*) updates first thing in the morning, because if an update occurs during a job, it will interrupt/interfere with the running of the job.

l looked-up several 'technical' ways to suppress updates.  Not one is permanent.  If your computer's operating ssystem does its own updates, it will usually invoke (and re-enable) windows updates, also.

But there's an easy way:  Just don't connect a working system to the internet!  If it's working properly, leave it alone.  Turn off or disconnect any internet access.  It cannot do updates without an internet connection.

Oh, well.  We'll see if the vendor listens.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6141
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: New bed router
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2020, 23:19:39 pm »
Hello,

Quote
Just don't connect a working system to the internet!

Yes, and in addition if you've internet on the PC, you need also an anti-virus and it is not a good thing to have this kind of software that run as a background task ... it can disturb the driving software. (With Mach3, a good way to crash it is to use a simple software that display the CPU/GPU temperature)

++
David

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
    • View Profile
Re: New bed router
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2020, 21:11:47 pm »
Well!  Today we cut our first sheet of commercial goods on the new machine.

Except for some very-minor marring around 1/8" drilled holes (from accumulated chips), everything went perfectly.   And, it went about 25% faster than on the old machine, without any changes in code.  I reckon we can increase speeds and feeds to improve that.

We have CONTACT! <grin>

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"