Author Topic: open pocket trochoidal?  (Read 718 times)

Offline turbothis

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2020, 23:33:57 pm »
does the polyline have to be closed for the trochoidal profile mop?

Offline Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2875
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2020, 00:24:26 am »
I presume so,but I never used the trochoidal profile MOP. Use the trochoidal pocketing MOP always.
My 2ยข

Win 10 64 bit, CB [1.0} rc 1 64 bit, Mach3, ESS, G540

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 5866
    • View Profile
    • Cambam French Doc
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2020, 01:27:47 am »
does the polyline have to be closed for the trochoidal profile mop?


Hello

Works also with open shapes (polylines, arcs, splines ... )

++
David

Offline turbothis

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2020, 17:58:13 pm »
i just would love to not have the circle lead in. ;)

Offline turbothis

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2020, 23:33:17 pm »
trying to get the 2nd layer cut on this part
not sure how to set up the crossover and cut width. those do not make sense to me yet


Offline turbothis

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2020, 00:45:18 am »
so i changed my drawing to make this easier for cambam
there is a .540 gap it wont go through with a .500" cutter
any fix to this?

Offline kvom

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #21 on: March 27, 2020, 10:35:03 am »
I assume you'd clean up the scallops with a normal profile afterwards.  What I do in situations like this is clear the left side with a separate trochoidal pocket op.  On this MOP set then start point inside the section to be cleared.

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4248
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #22 on: March 27, 2020, 11:05:18 am »
I haven't used the trochoidal plugin but I though it just worked rather than having to fight it.

It could be useful to read the thread about it, some explanation about it's use might be there.
http://www.cambam.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=6209.msg49300#msg49300
Made in England

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #23 on: March 27, 2020, 12:42:00 pm »
Hi turbothis

On jobs like this I would do as Kvom suggested or, on another layer split the geometry into two separate shapes an apply two troc mops.
There are settings in the mop like roughing\finishing and smooth chords which will give you less scalloping
and you may not have to do a cleanup pass.
A while ago I wrote a post treatment which will let you machine 50\60 percent faster than a plain troc mop just do a search here for the trocmops feedrate adjuster.
This troc pocket in the picture was done with it, and as you can see the metal removal rate is only
limited by my not having any flood cooling, and not enough horses in the spindle.

Dave

Offline turbothis

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #24 on: March 27, 2020, 19:08:37 pm »
man! .460 cutter gets through all nice like >:(


Offline turbothis

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #25 on: March 27, 2020, 19:13:09 pm »
ok get weird with me here..... :o

so this toolpath is good but for .460 cutter
how can i add cutter comp in the positive? to use a .500 tool and have it offset the .020" off the profile?

Offline turbothis

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #26 on: March 27, 2020, 19:17:39 pm »
oh i guess that would just offset the whole toolpath onto the opposite side
i need to like shrink this tighter.....

Offline Dragonfly

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2275
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #27 on: March 27, 2020, 19:39:10 pm »
oh i guess that would just offset the whole toolpath onto the opposite side
i need to like shrink this tighter.....

'Step over' parameter as percentage of tool diameter (given as decimal) is your friend.
Roughing clearance also. It can accept negative values so the tool will go outside the normal path with the given value.

Offline turbothis

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #28 on: March 27, 2020, 19:52:34 pm »
i wish step over would go down to .050! lol
where is roughing clearance???

Offline Dragonfly

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 2275
    • View Profile
Re: open pocket trochoidal?
« Reply #29 on: March 27, 2020, 20:55:34 pm »
I'd kindly suggest to examine every parameter listed in the MOP properties and clarify for yoourself what it does.
Parameters are shown either basic (less options) or advanced. You should use advanced. On the top of the MOP properties frame is a clcable word. If it reads 'Basic' you are looking at the advanced options. If you click on 'Basic' it will change to 'Advanced' but will display the basic set. Also, if you click on the blue question mark a small short help window will pop out explaining each of the parameters.
The way you ask your questions makes me think you are not acquainted enough with CB but trying to use one the most complex MOP.
In no way I want to be impolite. English is not my native language.