Author Topic: SVG loader  (Read 11414 times)

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1790
    • View Profile
Re: SVG loader
« Reply #30 on: March 22, 2022, 08:00:08 am »
HI Geoff

Man I was so close but no cigar, I had replaced the header with one from a working
file however that didn’t work.
I had thought that the hyperlink was a (decode this file from a particular proforma)
at W3.org, maybe it is, It didn’t occur to me to run the file with no header.
I suspected that the hyperlink was broken or CB’s decoder didn't recognize it.
Good work. I hate mysteries.

Dave

Offline maot0341

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: SVG loader
« Reply #31 on: November 28, 2022, 17:05:05 pm »
I tried the original SVG-file '15 cells diameter theta maze1.svg'. And it works fine. (s. screenshot)
Path sequences like  'A1223' should work as 'A 1223' - with or without space. No difference.

Guess it's something with .NET module version.
I'm using .NET: 'Mono JIT compiler version 6.12.0.182 (tarball Tue Jun 14 22:29:01 UTC 2022)'
on Ubuntu 10, Ubuntu 18 and Ubuntu 20.

@GeoffreyGRoy
The call stack (Exception Text) says there is a problem with the DTD-file. (URL "http://www.w3.org/Graphics/SVG/1.1/DTD/svg11.dtd" - I guess.)
The message is:
Code: [Select]
Unable to read data from the transport connection: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.at System.Xml.DtdParser.ParseExternalSubset() - in a system call far beyond my written source code.

I guess: while opening the SVG-File, the open-function tries to verify correctness via DTD (with given URL). So, remove this line in SVG file should help?

You can also drop the URL in a web browser. Can it load? Any error?

Update .NET library may help as well. The current was:
Code: [Select]
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4161.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------

« Last Edit: November 28, 2022, 18:05:49 pm by maot0341 »

Offline pstemari

  • Storm Trooper
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: SVG loader
« Reply #32 on: December 21, 2023, 00:34:12 am »
I'm running into some strange behavior.  The SVG loader loads this file without any error messages, but the results are scrambled.  Some of the polylines have the right shape, but are misplaced in relation to the others.  See attachments.

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1790
    • View Profile
Re: SVG loader
« Reply #33 on: December 23, 2023, 09:56:19 am »
I had a quick look at the .dll and it seemed ok.
I loaded up your file and the polylines were offset, but I didn't recall this as an issue
when using the plugin.
I made a new test file and loaded it up and it was ok. Win10 CB ver1 32 bit.
I set the debug level to 4 and reloaded your file and it does say that the scaling is not
implemented, I didn't get this error message with my newly generated file, so maybe it's a
linux version issue, either with Inkscape or CB.

Dave

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 5211
  • Made in England
    • View Profile
Re: SVG loader
« Reply #34 on: December 23, 2023, 15:11:07 pm »
I opened the original file in Rhino8 without issue so I exported it from Rhino and then CamBam was able to open it correctly.
Rhino exported file attacehd but keep in mind that Rhino can't do "Fill"

The original file opened correctly in Inkscape but any export of it from there failed to open in CamBam.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2023, 15:22:05 pm by EddyCurrent »
Filmed in Supermarionation

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1790
    • View Profile
Re: SVG loader
« Reply #35 on: December 24, 2023, 23:38:40 pm »
Quote
The original file opened correctly in Inkscape but any export of it from there failed to open in CamBam.

I compared my file and the OP file in notepad++
and the original drawings size was 13 x 11 pixels, and there was a missing block of parameters, I
resized the drawing to 96x96x96 dpi and it imported ok as well.
I don't know how the original file got so small (maybe it started out life as an icon) or was corrupted in some
way.

Dave