Author Topic: importing DXF doesn't work  (Read 3513 times)

Offline maurits woudenberg

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
importing DXF doesn't work
« on: September 05, 2020, 07:52:56 am »
Hi,

Ever since I updated to windows 10 I can't import DXF files anymore. To be more precise, I can still import them but they look very strange. There are either many random lines and splines or it takes an infinite time to load the file.

It is exactly the same workflow as always. Also known working DXF files (for example files that do open in Cambam on my other computer) come out strange.

I tried both V0.9.8 as well as V1.0 with different versions of .NET framework.

Does anyone here have an answer to this?

Thanks!


Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2020, 21:40:03 pm »
Hello

Not sure, but have you tried other "Display Mode" in the options ? By default CB V1 use OpenGL, but you can try OpenGL_legacy (CB must be restarted after display mode has changed)

If you open an "old" CamBam file (not a DXF, a .cb file) that worked before, do you have strange display too ? (or a CamBam file done on your another machine) or the problem comes only when you open a DXF ?

++
David
« Last Edit: September 05, 2020, 21:41:44 pm by dh42 »

Offline maurits woudenberg

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2020, 15:57:35 pm »
Hi David,
Thanks for your message. Unfotunately changing the display mode didn't help.
If I open a working .cb file from my other computer I get the same weird looking stuff.

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2020, 16:46:31 pm »
Hello

Do you have some screenshot of the display ?

You can try to update the drivers of you VGA adapter ...

Did you tried the "GDI" display mode ? .. if it works with GDI then the problem is with OpenGL, maybe your are using a windows "generic" driver for the VGA adapter that do not handle the OpenGL.

remember to restart CB after this change

++
David

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1897
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2020, 17:11:32 pm »
Perhaps a wrong dxf version.
Please upload a dxf-file

ralf

Offline maurits woudenberg

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2020, 11:50:48 am »
I tried all display modes. Also the drivers are up to date.

I think I can rule out a wrong dxf version since all dxf files do work on my other computer. Even a cambam file that's working perfectly fine on my cnc pc gives me trouble on the updated windows.

The first attachment is a screenshot of an opened dxf. The second is the same dxf opened in fusion 360.

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 5115
  • Made in England
    • View Profile
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2020, 12:45:16 pm »
Not a bit of use.

You need to attach the dxf file as Ralf said !

« Last Edit: September 07, 2020, 14:38:15 pm by EddyCurrent »
Filmed in Supermarionation

Offline maurits woudenberg

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2020, 20:19:54 pm »
here are some dxf files

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2020, 20:36:25 pm »
Hello

No problem for me with CB 1.0 - 32bits & Win7 - 64bits

++
David

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 5115
  • Made in England
    • View Profile
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2020, 20:37:28 pm »
All three files open correctly.

CamBam v1.0
Windows 10 64bit

also work correctly with, CamBam 0.9.8 Windows 10 64bit
« Last Edit: September 07, 2020, 20:42:58 pm by EddyCurrent »
Filmed in Supermarionation

Offline maurits woudenberg

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2020, 20:47:47 pm »
thank you both for trying.

But I already knew the files are fine. I tried them on my other pc so that's not where the problem is.
The problem is in the newly installed cambam. Uninstalling, reinstalling, old version, new version, old version of .net framework, new version of .net framework, etc... All without any luck... :(

Any new ideas?

thanks again!

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1897
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2020, 22:16:46 pm »
Hello
the DXF works for me in CamBam just like David and Eddy wrote it.
To be able to limit the error I have attached a ZIP with several DXF files.

Please open the files in CamBam and see if there is a file that looks good.
In your DXF file there is an Xref, an external block. It looks extremely dirty, see attached picture.
I assume that the missing block contains a pattern for the areas. 
If the DXF has such bad quality I try to improve the quality and don't question the system and software first.
I have revised the file in Autocad.
Alternatively DXF exports from Autocad, Illustrator and CamBam are included. And a CamBam file, converted to polylines.
I used different formats, R12 or R13.
If one file looks clean then you have to look for the error in DXF.
If all files do not work you can start with the system. But then better start with a fresh Windows.

@EddyCurrent: for you also a screenshot. congrats ;D
 
ralf
« Last Edit: September 07, 2020, 22:21:45 pm by pixelmaker »

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2020, 01:26:56 am »
Hello

The strange things is that the screenshot don't really look like a VGA bug but more that "erratic" coordinates in a spline/polyline, and the fact that the problem is the same with GDI display is also strange, currently VGA bugs go away in GDI mode and it works on any systems and VGA boards. ..

Also it seems that that have nothing to do with the DXF format because the problem is the same with a .cb file that work on another machine.

Quote
Any new ideas?

The "last chance"  :), try to reset to the Cambam factory settings ; even if you've reinstalled CB, they are not overwritten and they can retain "wrong" settings, even if I've no idea of what setting in CamBam can cause this strange problem ; never seen before !

https://cambamcnc.com/forum/index.php?topic=6491.0

++
David
« Last Edit: September 08, 2020, 01:30:05 am by dh42 »

Offline dave benson

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1686
    • View Profile
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2020, 01:28:13 am »
Hi Ralf
I downloaded the files and while they all loaded correctly on the various versions of CB,
the R12 is the one to use.
It required one run of the file cleaner and the removal of two entities, whereas the R13 is
just a nightmare and would take far longer to prepare too get a usable file.

Dave

Offline dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7048
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: importing DXF doesn't work
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2020, 01:35:48 am »
Quote
Ever since I updated to windows 10

What do you means exactly by "updated" ; an older system as been updated to Win10 without to format all the system, or it's is a fresh install on a blank disk + reinstalling of all drivers, and softwares ?

++
David