Author Topic: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?  (Read 1353 times)

Offline GraphicMan

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« on: May 25, 2021, 15:32:26 pm »
Hello

As far as i have read cambam can create toolpaths for simple profiling on a lathe
but how? i could not find how to specify the tool geometry being used
i will be using a 2mm wide square parting tool
attached the profile need to be cut
i know that the back of the ball cant be made exactly as desired, it will be fine with a straight line of 2mm after the ball
thanks

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4774
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2021, 15:47:50 pm »
From the manual;

"The file lathe-test.cb in the CamBam samples folder demonstrates the new lathe operation.

In this initial lathe release there are a number of limitations:

    Only profiling operations are currently supported. No facing, boring or threading support yet.
    Apart from the tool radius, there is no mechanism to define a lathe tool shape. The part should be drawn to allow for the cutter size and shape."

Once CamBam is opened click on "Help" to bring up the manual, there is a section on using the lathe function and also sample files in, "Tools->Browse System Folder->Samples"
Made in England

Offline GraphicMan

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2021, 16:15:40 pm »
From the manual;

"The file lathe-test.cb in the CamBam samples folder demonstrates the new lathe operation.

In this initial lathe release there are a number of limitations:

    Only profiling operations are currently supported. No facing, boring or threading support yet.
    Apart from the tool radius, there is no mechanism to define a lathe tool shape. The part should be drawn to allow for the cutter size and shape."

Once CamBam is opened click on "Help" to bring up the manual, there is a section on using the lathe function and also sample files in, "Tools->Browse System Folder->Samples"

thanks for your prompt respond
i have checked all that, the problem is that cambam seems like it is using turning as round tool only
there is no other tool geometry that it can understand?
we need someone who have actually used its turning capability

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4774
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2021, 16:21:35 pm »
Even without CamBam, just using a manual lathe, it is highly unlikely that anyone would choose to machine your part with a 2mm wide square parting tool.
CamBam uses the equivalent of a ball nose tool in standard cnc mode.

It may be possible to specify a tool radius of zero, give it a try and see what the toolpaths look like.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2021, 16:24:28 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline GraphicMan

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2021, 16:34:53 pm »
Even without CamBam, just using a manual lathe, it is highly unlikely that anyone would choose to machine your part with a 2mm wide square parting tool.
CamBam uses the equivalent of a ball nose tool in standard cnc mode.

It may be possible to specify a tool radius of zero, give it a try and see what the toolpaths look like.
yes indeed i do a lot with a 2mm wide parting tool
if u specify a very small radius for the tool it will generate a toolpath that is way off the desired one
think about it, the toolpath needed should respect both sides of the tool
i think cambam will not do that, so sad

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8486
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2021, 17:23:44 pm »
Try an infinitely-large (well.. very large) radius.  The 'radius' of a flat-nosed tool is infinite.

But really -- a flat-faced parting tool as a profiling tool?  Really?

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline Bubba

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3167
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2021, 17:28:59 pm »
But really -- a flat-faced parting tool as a profiling tool?  Really?
***************************
Exactly what I was wondering...
My 2ยข

Win10 (64 bit, CB(1.0)rc 1(64 bit) Mach3, ESS, G540, Endurance Laser.

Offline GraphicMan

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2021, 18:19:25 pm »
even for a round parting tool it does seem that cambam is doing any real toolpath
it is just offsetting the original profile?!!
all the tests i have tried is just offseting !


Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8486
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2021, 19:04:26 pm »
Graphicman,

That might be all it needs to do to cut a profile with a radiussed tool.

Lots of people use it, and it seems to work to their pleasure.

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"

Offline GraphicMan

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2021, 19:22:26 pm »
Graphicman,

That might be all it needs to do to cut a profile with a radiussed tool.

Lots of people use it, and it seems to work to their pleasure.

Lloyd
i am afraid that is totally not correct
just think about it, the very near feature should have the tool in contact on the profile no with an offset, you will be surprised on how the real toolpath should look like for either a square or a rounded parting tool

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4774
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2021, 19:28:43 pm »
I think the CamBam toolpath is fine for ball nose tools.
The toolpath follows the centre of the ball, for example if a 6mm ball nose tool was used then the toolpath would be 3mm offset from the cut surface.
Made in England

Offline GraphicMan

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2021, 19:29:06 pm »
this is how the toolpath should look like in red
the rectangle represents the tool profile
i dont think cambam can generate this and i dont understand how people are using it (if any are)
now imagine the tool profile have a radius, not much will change, it will never be like what cambam generates

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4774
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2021, 19:31:58 pm »
From the manual;


"Post Processor

If False, the toolpath at the center of the tool radius is output.

If True, an appropriate tool radius offset is applied. The toolpath will be offset by a negative tool radius in the lathe X axis. The direction of the Z tool radius offset is determined by the cut direction. For right hand cuts the toolpath Z will be offset by a negative tool radius. For left hand cuts, a positive tool radius Z offset is used."

So for me answer would be to use a ball nose cutter and set the option to "False" in the post processor.
Why limit yourself to a 2mm square tool when you can get a ball nose tool and the problem is solved ?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2021, 19:34:02 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline GraphicMan

  • Droid
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #13 on: May 25, 2021, 19:33:03 pm »
I think the CamBam toolpath is fine for ball nose tools.
The toolpath follows the centre of the ball, for example if a 6mm ball nose tool was used then the toolpath would be 3mm offset from the cut surface.

not as simple as that
have u ever used cambam to turn?
it is not offeset, the offset is there when the side cuts but when the front cuts then there should not be any offsets and that the complexity of it

Offline lloydsp

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 8486
    • View Profile
Re: Can CamBam create a toolpath for a parting tool on lathe?
« Reply #14 on: May 25, 2021, 19:34:01 pm »
"i am afraid that is totally not correct
just think about it, the very near feature should have the tool in contact on the profile no with an offset, you will be surprised on how the real toolpath should look like for either a square or a rounded parting tool"
----------
REALLY?

I'm bowing out.  You know far more about how CamBam should work than all the folks who've been using it all these years!

Lloyd
"Pyro for Fun and Profit for More Than Fifty Years"