Author Topic: Waterline Style  (Read 467 times)

Offline clariongrade

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Waterline Style
« on: June 10, 2021, 11:29:27 am »
Hi

A bit of a Newbee question.

I have installed CamBam 1.0, with the intention to try it for 3d milling.  The only option given for 3D milling is 3D Finish, which is incredibly slow for cutting without a roughing cut first.

I see references to Waterline roughing on the forum, but I do not see this as a style option.

Am I missing a Plugin, or something else?

Thanks

Online dh42

  • Administrator
  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 6557
    • View Profile
    • Cambam V1.0 French Doc
Re: Waterline Style
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2021, 23:10:14 pm »
Hello

There is 3 ways to do 3D milling

- Scanline horizontal and vertical

- 3D waterline Rough

- 3D Waterline finish

You can select the mode in the " Profile 3D Method " property of the 3D machining operation

http://www.cambam.info/doc/dw/1.0.0/cam/3d.html

There is tons of examples of 3D milling on this forum

++
David
« Last Edit: June 10, 2021, 23:12:09 pm by dh42 »

Offline clariongrade

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Waterline Style
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2021, 11:21:48 am »
Thanks, I've found it now :)

But, this does not help with the underlying problem.  I am trying to attempt rotary milling and, using the 3D Finish style, it is incredibly slow.  Is there any way of doing a roughing/finishing mop using CamBam?

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4774
    • View Profile
Re: Waterline Style
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2021, 11:52:13 am »
Forget "Styles" for now because they are getting in your way, just create two 3D Profile machining operations, make the first one a Roughing and the Second one a Finishing.
Setting those to "Roughing" and "Finishing" does not perform any background magic you still have to enter the required parameters, so you need more aggresive cutting with a larger tool for roughing using a waterline method, then for the finishing use finer cuts with a small tool using a scanline method.

If you attach the cb file in question then an exact answer can be given. If the file is too big you can zip it before attaching here.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 11:54:27 am by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline pixelmaker

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1833
    • View Profile
    • pixelmaker
Re: Waterline Style
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2021, 13:38:42 pm »
Quote
Setting those to "Roughing" and "Finishing" does not perform any background magic
the magic is
With a value >0 in depth increment = Roughing
With 0 in depth increment = Finishing

ralf

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4774
    • View Profile
Re: Waterline Style
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2021, 16:06:30 pm »
My point was that "clariongrade" is being confused by "CamBam Styles" and should choose to use two 3D Profile MOPs
Then I would suggest they read the manual to understand what each parameter means and also look at examples in the forum.

From the manual;

"Roughing / Finishing

For horizontal and vertical scanline operations:
If Roughing is selected, toolpaths at each Depth Increment are calculated.
If Finishing is selected, only the toolpath at the final Target Depth is calculated. "

So it appears the waterline method is unaffected by those settings.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2021, 16:15:58 pm by EddyCurrent »
Made in England

Offline clariongrade

  • Ewok
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Waterline Style
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2021, 08:02:19 am »
Thanks for the help.

I will try what you recommend, and keep you informed.

Offline EddyCurrent

  • CNC Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4774
    • View Profile
Re: Waterline Style
« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2021, 08:49:49 am »
Thanks, I've found it now :)

But, this does not help with the underlying problem.  I am trying to attempt rotary milling and, using the 3D Finish style, it is incredibly slow.  Is there any way of doing a roughing/finishing mop using CamBam?

I must have missed the bit about rotary milling, in that case you will need this wrapper plugin; http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Cambam/Aide/Plugins/Wrapper_plugin.html
Made in England